BFA Judges Announced

The British Fantasy Society has announced that the 2012 British Fantasy Awards will be selected by a panel of five judges in a break with tradition. The panel will be presented with a shortlist of four nominees determined by BFS members and may add an additional work to the ballot. The judges include James Barclay, Hal Duncan, Maura McHugh, Esther Sherman, and Damien G. Walter.

For more information…

More Changes for BFS

Following David Howe’s resignation as Chairman of the BFS, Graham Joyce has been appointed acting chair. He has stated that the 2012 Fantasycon will not be held in Corby, as previously announced, and will not be chaired by Howe and Sam Stone. The organisation is searching for a new venue and will announce the location and dates as soon as they are finalised. Joyce will also appoint a committee to overhaul the Awards system and make it more transparent and enfranchise a broader base of readers.

For more information…

British Fantasy Award Nominees

The nominees for the British Fantasy Awards have been announced. All current members of the BFS are eligible to vote, as are attendees of both last year’s and this year’s FantasyCon. This year’s FantasyCon will be held in Brighton, from September 30 to October 2.

Best Novel (August Derleth Fantasy Award)

  • Apartment 16, by Adam Nevill
  • Demon Dance, by Sam Stone
  • The Leaping, by Tom Fletcher
  • Pretty Little Dead Things, by Gary McMahon
  • The Silent Land, by Graham Joyce

Best Novella

  • “1922,” by Stephen King
  • “Humpty’s Bones,” by Simon Clark
  • “Ponthe Oldenguine,” by Andrew Hook
  • “Sparrowhawk,” by Paul Finch
  • “The Thief of Broken Toys,” by Tim Lebbon

Best Short Story

  • “The Beautiful Room,” by R B Russell
  • “Fool’s Gold,” by Sam Stone
  • “The Lure,” by Nicholas Royle
  • “Otterburn,” by Jan Edwards
  • “Something For Nothing,” by Joe Essid

Best Collection

  • Full Dark, No Stars, by Stephen King
  • The Gravedigger’s Tale: Fables of Fear, by Simon Clark
  • Last Exit for the Lost, by Tim Lebbon
  • One Monster Is Not Enough, by Paul Finch
  • Walkers in the Dark, by Paul Finch

Best Anthology

  • Back From the Dead: The Legacy of the Pan Book of Horror Stories, edited by Johnny Mains
  • The End of the Line, edited by Jonathan Oliver
  • The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror Volume 21, edited by Stephen Jones
  • Never Again, edited by Allyson Bird & Joel Lane
  • Zombie Apocalypse!, edited by Stephen Jones

Best Non-Fiction

  • Altered Visions: The Art of Vincent Chong, by Vincent Chong
  • Cinema Futura, edited by Mark Morris
  • Fantastic TV: 50 Years of Cult Fantasy and Science Fiction, by Steven Savile
  • M P Shiel: The Middle Years 1897-1923, by Harold Billings
  • The Shrieking Sixties, by Darrel Buxton

Best Artist

  • Ben Baldwin
  • Daniele Serra
  • Les Edwards
  • Paul Mudie
  • Vincent Chong

Best Small Press

  • Atomic Fez, Ian Alexander Martin
  • Gray Friar Press, Gary Fry
  • Pendragon Press, Christopher Teague
  • Telos Publishing, David J Howe and Stephen James Walker
  • TTA Press, Andy Cox

Best Magazine/Periodical

  • Black Static, edited by Andy Cox
  • Cemetery Dance, edited by Rich Chizmar
  • Murky Depths, edited by Terry Martin
  • Shadows and Tall Trees, edited by Michael Kelly
  • Strange Horizons, edited by Susan Marie Groppi

Best Graphic Novel

  • Clint, by Mark Millar
  • Grandville Mon Amour, by Bryan Talbot
  • Neonomicon, by Alan Moore & Jacen Burrows
  • The Mountains of Madness, by Ian Culbard
  • The Unwritten Vols 1 & 2, by Mike Carey & Peter Gross

Best Film

  • Alice in Wonderland
  • Inception
  • Kick-Ass
  • Monsters
  • Scott Pilgrim vs The World

Best Television

  • A History of Horror With Mark Gatiss
  • Being Human
  • Doctor Who
  • Sherlock
  • True Blood

For more information…

PS Publishing and BFS Small Press Award

PS Publishing has announced that it will cosponsor the British Fantasy Society’s Small Press Award. PS has won the award each year for the past ten years, with the exception of 2005. The award comes with a cash prize of £250, which will be donated by PS. Publisher Peter Crowther notes, “If our contribution helps in some albeit small way to maintain and promote the valuable work done by independent presses, then it will be money well-spent.”

For more information…