Humanism in the Arts Award

Robert J. Sawyer received the Humanism in the Arts Award, presented for the first time by Humanist Canada at their conference in Montreal on August 4.

For more information…

World SF Travel Fund Recipients

Swedish authors Karin Tidbeck and Nene Ormes have been named the recipients of the World SF Travel Fund, which will permit the two women to travel to Toronto, Canada to attend this year’s World Fantasy Convention, with additional assistance from Cheeky Frawg Books, run by Ann and Jeff VanderMeer. The selection board was comprised of Lauren Beukes, Aliette de Bodard, Nnedi Okorafor, Ekaterina Sedia, and Charles Tan. Lavie Tidhar and Sean Wallace administer the fund.

For more information…

Sunburst Nominees

The Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic is presented for the best in Canadian fantastic literature. The awards will be presented in the fall of 2012 and include a prize of Can$1,000 and a trophy. This year’s jurors include Douglas Barbour, Zsuzsi Gartner, Daniel Justice, Lorna Toolis, and Halli Villegas.

Adult Category

  • Blackdog, by K. V. Johansen
  • Eutopia: A Novel of Terrible Optimism, by David Nickle
  • Technicolor Ultra Mall, by Ryan Oakley
  • Enter, Night, by Michael Rowe
  • Paradise Tales, by Geoff Ryman
  • The Pattern Scars, by Caitlin Sweet

Young Adult

  • Ultraviolet, by R. J. Anderson
  • All Good Children, by Catherine Austen
  • The Summer of Permanent Wants, by Jamieson Findlay
  • The Dead Kid Detective Agency, by Evan Munday
  • Blood Red Road: Dustlands: 1, by Moira Young

For more information…

Van Vogt Award Created

The Winnipeg Science Fiction Association (WINSFA) has announced the creation of the A. E. van Vogt Award, in honor of the Canadian author The award will spotlight the best in Canadian Science Fiction Writing over the past years. The first A. E. van Vogt Award will be presented in Winnipeg in Fall of 2012.

Battle of the Toronto Cons

Hobby Star is suing Wizard World over the use of the name Toronto Comicon. Hobby Star has run the Toronto Comicon for several years and claims that the newer Wizard World Toronto Comic Con is infringing on its name and misrepresenting itself as being related. Hobby Star is also claiming Wizard World is defaming Hobby Star by claiming that company is threatening reprisals against vendors who exhibit at both events.

For more information…

Yeung Wins CUFF

Debra Yeung has been selected as this year’s CUFF delegate. She will travel westward to attend thie year’s Canvention, “When Worlds Collide,” in Calgary the weekend of August 10-12. Yeung defeated Jane Garthson, 29-12-1 to win this year’s Canadian United Fan Fund.

For more information…

Aurora Nominations

The English language nominations for the Prix Aurora have been announced by the Canadian Science Fiction & Fantasy Association. Voting for the awards will begin on April 16.

Professional Award Nominations

Best Novel – English

  • Enter Night, by Michael Rowe
  • Eutopia: A Novel of Terrible Optimism, by David Nickle
  • Napier’s Bones, by Derryl Murphy
  • The Pattern Scars, by Caitlin Sweet
  • Technicolor Ultra Mall, by Ryan Oakley
  • WWW: Wonder, by Robert J. Sawyer

Best Short Fiction – English

  • “The Legend of Gluck,” by Marie Bilodeau
  • “The Needle’s Eye,” by Suzanne Church
  • “One Horrible Day,” by Randy McCharles
  • “Turning It Off,” by Susan Forest
  • “To Live and Die in Gibbontown,” by Derek Künsken

Best Poem / Song – English

  • “A Good Catch,” by Colleen Anderson
  • “Ode to the Mongolian Death Worm,” by Sandra Kasturi
  • “Skeleton Leaves,” by Helen Marshall
  • “Skeleton Woman,” by Heather Dale and Ben Deschamps
  • “Zombie Bees of Winnipeg,” by Carolyn Clink

Best Graphic Novel – English

  • Goblins, webcomic, created by Tarol Hunt
  • Imagination Manifesto, Book 2, by GMB Chomichuk, James Rewucki, and John Toone
  • Weregeek, webcomic, created by Alina Pete

Best Related Work – English

  • Fairytale, CD by Heather Dale
  • The First Circle: Volume One of the Tenth Circle Project, edited by Eileen Bell and Ryan McFadden
  • Neo-Opsis, edited by Karl Johanson
  • On Spec, published by the Copper Pig Writers’ Society
  • Tesseracts Fifteen: A Case of Quite Curious Tales, edited by Julie Czerneda and Susan MacGregor

Best Artist (Professional and Amateur Nominations)

  • Janice Blaine, “Cat in Space,” Cover art for Neo-Opsis, Issue 20
  • Costi Gurgu, cover art for Outer Diverse
  • Erik Mohr, cover art for ChiZine Publications
  • Dan O’Driscoll, “Deep Blue Seven,” cover art for On Spec magazine, Summer issue
  • Martin Springett, Interior art for The Pattern Scars

Fan/Volunteer Award Nominations

Best Fan Publication

  • BCSFAzine,edited by Felicity Walker
  • Bourbon and Eggnog, by Eileen Bell, Ryan McFadden, Billie Milholland, and Randy McCharles
  • In Places Between: The Robin Herrington Memorial Short Story Contest Book, edited by Reneé Bennett
  • Sol Rising newsmagazine, edited by Michael Matheson
  • Space Cadet, edited by R. Graeme Cameron

Best Fan Filk

  • Stone Dragons (Tom and Sue Jeffers), concert at FilKONtario
  • Phil Mills, Body of Song-Writing Work including FAWM and 50/90
  • Cindy Turner, Interfilk concert at OVFF

Best Fan Organizationa

  • Andrew Gurudata, chair of the Constellation Awards committee
  • Peter Halasz, administrator of the Sunburst Awards
  • Helen Marshall and Sandra Kasturi, chairs of the Chiaroscuro Reading Series (Toronto)
  • Randy McCharles, founder and chair of When Words Collide (Calgary)
  • Alex von Thorn, chair of SFContario 2 (Toronto)
  • Rose Wilson, for organizing the Art Show at V-Con (Vancouver)

Best Fan Other

  • Lloyd Penney, letters of comment
  • Peter Watts, “Reality: The Ultimate Mythology” lecture, Toronto SpecFic Colloquium
  • Taral Wayne, Canadian Fanzine Fanac Awards art

For more information…

World Fantasy Award Judges Names

The judges for this year’s World Fantasy Awards have been announced. The World Fantasy Awards are presented at World Fantasy Con on November 4 in Toronto, Canada. This year’s judges include John Berlyne, James P. Blaylock, Stephen Gallagher, Mary Kay Kare, and Jacques Post.

For more information…

Tesseracts Seeks Stories

Editor Mark Leslie has put out a call for short fiction by Canadian authors for Tesseracts 16, the theme of which is Parnassus Unbound. Stories should have art, music, literature, and cultural elements that is central to the story. Stories can be a maximum of 5,000 words and the deadline for submissions is February 29, 2012.

For more information…

Corrected the name of the editor and removed an erroneous $ sign.

Star Wars in Montreal

LucasFilm has announced that a new Star Wars exhibit, Star Wars: Identities, will open at the Montréal Science Centre on April 19, 2012. The interactive exhibit will examine the biological and social forces which determine identity and will also include numerous iconic props and costumes for the Star Wars series.

For more information…