IAFA Awards

The International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts has announced the winners of its 2017 awards.

  • Crawford Award: All the Birds in the Sky, by Charlie Jane Anders
  • IAFA Distinguished Scholarship Award: Edward James
  • David G. Hartwell Emerging Scholar Award: Grant Dempsey
  • Jamie Bishop Memorial Award: David Dalton
  • Walter James Miller Memorial Award: Ida Yoshinaha

For more information…

Crawford Award

Charlie Jane Anders’s novel All the Birds in the Sky has been announced as the winner of the William L. Crawford Award. The Crawford Award is presented annually for a new fantasy author whose first book appeared during the previous year. It is presented at the International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts, which will be held this year from March 22-26 in Orlando, Florida.
For more information…

Promotions at io9

Annalee Newitz has been promoted to head the Future Initiative, which aims to bring sites like Gizmodo Sploid, Paleofuture, Space, and Reframe into closer collaboration. The promotion also means that Newitz will become the editor-in-chief for Gizmodo. At the same time, Charlie Jane Anders will become the editor-in-chief of io9.
For more information…

Norton Award Winners

The winners of the Norton Award were presented in San Francisco on August 30 as part of the Tachyon Publications Annual birthday Bash. The Norton Award, named for Emperor Joshua Norton I, are given for “extraordinary invention and creativity unhindered by the constraints of paltry reason,” should not be confused with the Andre Norton Award.

  • Author: Doug Dorst for Alive in Necropolis
  • Other: Charlie Jane Anders for Writers with Drinks and io9.com