Inkwell Nominees

The Inkwell Awards have announced the nominees for this year’s awards to honor inkers in Comic books. Voting is open to everyone, whether fans or professional peers. The winners will be announced at the live awards ceremony at Heroes Con in Charlotte, NC June 7-9.

Favorite Inker: favorite ink artist over the pencil work of another artist from 2012 cover-dated interior American comic book material.

  • Klaus Janson (Captain America, Amazing Spider-man)
  • Art Thibert (Savage Hawkman, Deathstroke)
  • Brian Thies (Winter Soldier)
  • Scott Williams (Justice League)

Most-adaptable: showing exceptional ink style versatility over other pencil artists in 2012 cover-dated interior American comic book material.

  • Sal Buscema (G.I. Joe, Dungeons & Dragons, Forgotten Realms)
  • Wayne Faucher (Frankenstein: Agent of S.H.A.D.E, Green Arrow, Mr. Terrific)
  • Jonathan Glapion (Batman, Aquaman, JLA)
  • Scott Hanna (A vs. X, Avengers, Avengers Academy, Green Lantern Corp, Suicide Squad)
  • Scott Koblish (World’s Finest, OMAC, Deadpool)
  • Jay Leisten (Avenging Spider-man, Captain America, Uncanny X-men, Captain America & Iron Man, X-factor)
  • Tom Palmer (Hitgirl, Daredevil)

Props award: ink artist deserving of more attention for their work over other pencilers from ’12 cover-dated interior American comic book material.

  • Eber Ferreira (Nightwing, Aquaman, Detective Comics, Superman, Stormwatch)
  • Cory Hamscher (Avengers Academy, Supreme)
  • Scott Hanna (A vs. X, Avengers)
  • Gary Martin (New Crusaders, Megaman)
  • Joe Rivera (Daredevil)
  • Brian Thies (Winter Soldier)

The S.P.A.M.I: for favorite Small Press And Mainstream-Independent ’12 cover-dated interior American comic book ink work over another pencil artist (Non-Marvel or DC work).

  • Sal Buscema (G.I. Joe, Dungeons & Dragons, Forgotten Realms)
  • Gary Erskine (G.I. Joe)
  • Stefano Gaudiano (X-O Manowar)

All-in-one award: for favorite artist known for inking his/ her own pencil work in ’12 cover-dated interior American comic book material.

  • David Aja (Hawkeye)
  • Francis Manapul (Flash, 7 Warriors)
  • Moritat AKA Justin Norman (All-Star Western)
  • Chris Samnee (Daredevil)
  • Dave Sim (Glamourpuss)
  • James Stokoe (Godzilla)
  • Skottie Young (Road to Oz, Dorothy & The Wizard in Oz)

For more information…

DC Goes to Ratings

DC Comics has announced it will cease carrying the Comics Code Authority Seal of Approval. The CCA was established in 1954, partially in response to the studies and testimony of Fredric Wertham. DC’s competitor, Marvel, broke from the CCA in 2001. DC will move to a ratings system similar to that used by movies, television, and video games, with E for Everyone, T for Teen, T+ for over 16, and Mature for older than 18. All graphic novels in the Vertigo line will still be considered Mature.

For more information…