Obituary: Diana Wynne Jones

Author Diana Wynne Jones (b.1934) died on March 26 after a year-long struggle with cancer. Jones was the author of the Dalemark Quartet, the Chrestomanci cycle, The Tough Guide to Fantasyland, Howl’s Moving Castle (which was turned into a film by Studio Ghibli), and numerous other fantasy novels aimed at the young adult market, but enjoyed by many adults. Jones won the Mythopoeic Award for The Crown of Dalemark and Dark Lord of Derkholm as well as the World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement Award in 2007.