Science Fiction Hall of Fame Inductees

To celebrate the twentieth year of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame, this year will see 24 members inducted, including 15 creators and 9 properties. Some of the inductees were selected by popular vote last year, while other inductees were selected by the panel of jurors. The Hall of Fame is currently hosted by The Museum of Pop Culture (MOPOP), formerly the Experience Music Project and Science Fiction Museum. Inductees are listed below and will be celebrated on March 4.


  • Douglas Adams
  • Margaret Atwood
  • Keith David
  • Guillermo del Toro
  • Terry Gilliam
  • Jim Henson
  • Jack Kirby
  • Madeleine L’Engle
  • C.S. Lewis
  • H.P. Lovecraft
  • Leonard Nimoy
  • George Orwell
  • Sir Terry Pratchett
  • Rumiko Takahashi
  • John Williams


  • 2001: A Space Odyssey
  • Blade Runner
  • Dungeons and Dragons
  • The Matrix
  • Myst
  • The Princess Bride
  • Star Trek
  • Wonder Woman
  • The X-Files

For more information…

Science Fiction Hall of Fame Ballot

The ballot for the Science Fiction Hall of Fame has been announced. This is the first time members of the public were able to nominate individuals for consideration for the Hall. It is also the first time the EMP will be inducting a second class into the Hall of Fame, comprised of “Creations” as well as the “Creators” who have traditionally been honored. This is also the first time members of the public may vote on the finalists. The voting deadline is May 11.


  • Douglas Adams
  • Jorge Luis Borges
  • Neil Gaiman
  • Aldous Huxley
  • Stephen King
  • Stan Lee
  • Terry Pratchett
  • Nichelle Nichols
  • J.K. Rowling
  • Lana & Lilly Wachowski


  • 1984, by George Orwell
  • Blade Runner, directed by Ridley Scott
  • Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley
  • Frankenstein, by Mary Shelley
  • The Harry Potter series, by J.K. Rowling
  • The Star Wars media franchise, created by George Lucas
  • The Star Trek media franchise, created by Gene Roddenberry
  • “Space Oddity,” by David Bowie
  • The Twilight Zone TV series, created by Rod Serling
  • A Wrinkle in Time, by Madeleine L’Engle

For more information…

Hall of Fame Nominations Open

To celebrate its 20th anniversary, the EMP has announced that nominations for the Science Fiction Hall of Fame will be accepted from the general public through April 10. While I normally don’t promote on this page, I’ll note that Murray Leinster, who helped create the first contact story, the multiple universe story, alternate history, and more, and who was known as the “Dean of Science Fiction,” still isn’t in the Hall of Fame.

For more information…