100 African Writers of SF

Geoff Ryman is beginning a series of articles at Strange Horizons which will run through 2017 and 18 looking at the explosion of speculative fiction coming from Africa. The series began on Monday, February 27 looking at writers in Nairobi, Kenya, and will continue with two more chapters published this week and additional chapters published about every two months. 100 African Writers of SFF is supported and made possible by a grant from the Leverhulme Trust.
For more information…

Loncon 3 Announced Hugo Emcees

Loncon 3 has announced that Justina Robson and Geoff Ryman will co-host this year’s Hugo Awards ceremony. The retro Hugo Awards will be presented by Mary Robinette Kowal and Robert Shearman as has previously been announced. Robson and Ryman replace Jonathan Ross, who resigned following outcry over his appointment.

For more information…

Sunburst Winners

The 2012 Sunburst Award winners have been announced. The Sunburst Award for Canadian Literature of the Fantastic is a juried award given to a Canadian writer for a book length work of SF. The prize comes with a hand-crafted medallion and Can$1,000.

  • Sunburst Award: Paradise Tales, by Geoff Ryman
  • Sunburst Young Adult Award: All Good Children, by Catherine Austen

For more information…