Heinlein Considered for Hall of Fame

The Missouri State House is running an internet poll for inductees into the Missouri Hall of Fame. Science fiction author Robert A. Heinlein is one of the ten names up for consideration. The list includes politicians, artists, golfers, musicians, doctors, and suffragettes. The Missouri Hall of Fame was begun in 1982 with the induction of Mark Twain. In 2012, three individuals were inducted into the Hall. Inductees are represented by a bust in the Missouri Capitol.

For more information…

Prometheus Nominations

This year’s nominees for the Prometheus Award and the Hall of Fame Award have been announced. The awards are presented by the Libertarian Futurist Society and winners will be announced in August at LoneStarCon 3, which will be held in San Antonio, Texas.

Prometheus Awards

  • Arctic Rising, by Tobias Buckell
  • The Unincorporated Future, by Dani and Eytan Kollin
  • Pirate Cinema, by Cory Doctorow
  • Darkship Renegades, by Sarah Hoyt
  • Kill Decision, by Daniel Suarez

Hall of Fame

  • “Sam Hall,” by Poul Anderson
  • Falling Free, by Lois McMaster Bujold
  • “‘Repent, Harlequin!’ Said the Ticktockman,” by Harlan Ellison
  • Courtship Rite, by Donald Kingsbury
  • “As Easy as A.B.C.,” by Rudyard Kipling
  • Cryptonomicon, by Neil Stephenson

For more information…

First Fandom Nominees

Members of First Fandom have until June 1 to vote on the inductees into the Hall of Fame. First Fandom was founded in 1959 to connect those who had been in fandom prior to 1938. Its membership has since expanded with various classes of member. The Sam Moskowitz Award is presented for excellence in science fiction collecting. The winners will be announced at Chicon 7.

First Fandom Hall of Fame Award

  • Ray Bradbury
  • Larry Farsace
  • Claude Held
  • Jack Robins

First Fandom Posthumous Hall of Fame Award

  • Rusty Hevelin

Sam Moskowitz Archive Award

  • Donn Albright

For more information…

2011 Science Fiction Hall of Fame Class

Four new members will be inducted into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame, housed at the Science Fiction Museum in Seattle, Washington. The induction ceremony will take place as part of the Science Fiction Awards Weekend, to be held June 24-26, 2011.

  • Vincent Di Fate
  • Gardner Dozois
  • Harlan Ellison
  • Moebius

For more information…

Prometheus Hall of Fame Nominees

The Libertarian Futurist Society has announced the nominees for this year’s Prometheus Hall of Fame Awards, given to novels or stories which reflect the ideals of Libertarians. The award, along with the Prometheus Best Novel Award, will be presented at Renovation, this year’s Worldcon, in Reno, Nevada.

  • “The Machine Stops,” by E. M. Forster (1909)
  • “As Easy as A.B.C.,” by Rudyard Kipling (1912)
  • Animal Farm, by George Orwell (1945)
  • “‘Repent, Harlequin!’ Said the Ticktockman,” by Harlan Ellison (1965)
  • Falling Free, by Lois McMaster Bujold (1988)

For more information…

Filk Hall of Fame Inductees

Erica Neely and Frank Hayes were inducted into the Filk Hall of Fame at FilkOntario on April 4, 2009.

For more information…

2009 Hall of Fame Inductees

The Science Fiction Museum has announced the inductees for the class of 2009. This year’s class will be inducted the weekend of June 26 at the Seattle museum. This year’s inductees include Connie Willis, Michael Whelan, Frank R. Paul, and Edward L. Ferman.

For more information…