BSFA Award Winners

The British Science Fiction Association (BSFA) Award winners were announced on April 15 at Innominate, the 68th Eastercon, in Birmingham, UK.

  • Best Novel: Europe in Winter, by Dave Hutchinson
  • Best Short Fiction: “Liberty Bird,” by Jaine Fenn
  • Best Non-Fiction: 100 African Writers of SFF, by Geoff Ryman
  • Best Artwork: “Cover for Central Station, by Lavie Tidhar,” by Sarah Anne Langton

For more information…

TAFF Deadline Extended

The current TAFF Administrators, Curt Phillips and Anna Raftery, have announced the extension of the voting deadline for TAFF. The new deadline, is 17th April 2017 Midnight BST/16:00 PDT/17:00 MDT/18:00 CDT/19:00 EDT, which coincides with this year’s Eastercon, Innominate. Raftery will be attending Innominate and will be accepting ballots there. This year’s TAFF nominees include Sarah Gulde, Alissa McKersie, John Purcell.
For more information…

BSFA Nominations

The British Science Fiction Association has announced the nominees for this year’s BSFA Awards, to be presented on the evening of Saturday, April 16, at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole, during Innominate, the 68th British National Science Fiction Convention (Eastercon).

Best Novel

  • Daughter of Eden, by Chris Beckett
  • A Closed and Common Orbit, by Becky Chambers
  • Europe in Winter, by Dave Hutchinson
  • Occupy Me, by Tricia Sullivan
  • Azanian Bridges, by Nick Wood

Best Short Story

  • “The End of Hope Street,” by Malcolm Devlin
  • “Liberty Bird,” by Jaine Fenn
  • “Taking Flight,” by Una McCormack
  • “Presence,” by Helen Oyeyemi
  • “The Apologists,” by Tade Thompson
  • “The Arrival of Missives,” by Aliya Whiteley

Best Non-Fiction

  • THEN: Science Fiction Fandom in the UK 1930-1980, by Rob Hansen
  • “Boucher, Backbone and Blake: The Legacy of Blakes Seven,” by Erin Horáková
  • “Breaking the Cycle of the Golden Age: Jack Glass and Isaac Asimov’s Foundation Trilogy,” by Anna McFarlane
  • “New Model Authors? Authority, Authordom, Anarchism and the Atomized Text in a Networked World,” by Paul Graham Raven
  • “100 African Writers of SFF,” by Geoff Ryman
  • “Introduction” to The Big Book of Science Fiction, by Ann & Jeff VanderMeer

Best Artwork

  • Juan Miguel Aguilera: Cover of The 1000 Year Reich, by Ian Watson
  • Tara Bush: “Transition” (Cover of Black Static #53)
  • Suzanne Dean and Kai & Sunny: Cover of The Sunlight Pilgrim’s, by Jenni Fagan
  • David A. Hardy: Cover of Disturbed Universes, by David L. Clements
  • Sarah Anne Langton: Cover for Central Station, by Lavie Tidhar
  • Chris Moore: Cover of The Iron Tactician, by Alastair Reynolds

For more information…

Eastercons Selected

Two Eastercons were selected at Mancunicon. The 2017 Eastercon was selected to replace Pasgon, which was cancelled earlier this month. The 2018 Eastercon was also selected.

2017: Innominate will be held in Birmingham from April 14-17 in the Hilton Metropole. The Guests of Honour are Pat Cadigan, Judith Clute, and Colin Harris.

2018: Follycon will be held in Harrogate from March 30-April 2, 2018 at the Majestic Hotel. The Guests of Honour are Kieron Gillen, Christina Lake, Nnedi Okorafor, and Kim Stanley Robinson.

For more information about Follycon…