Tolkien Society Awards

The first Tolkien Society Awards were presented following the Society’s annual dinner on April 11 at Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom.

  • Best Article: “Tolkien and the Boy Who Didn’t Believe in Fairies,” by John Garth
  • Best Artwork: “Eärendil the Mariner,” by Jenny Dolfen
  • Best Book: Middle-Earth Envisioned, by Paul Simpson and Brian Robb
  • Best Novel: The Fall of Arthur, edited by J.R.R. Tolkien and Christopher Tolkien
  • Best Website: LOTR Project, by Emil Johansson
  • Outstanding Contribution Award: Christopher Tolkien

For more information…

SF Hall of Fame Inductees

This year’s inductees into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame have been announced. The Hall of Fame is now part of the Icons of Science Fiction exhibit at the Experience Music Project Museum.

  • Davie Bowie
  • H.R. Giger
  • Judith Merril
  • Joanna Russ
  • J.R.R. Tolkien

For more information…

For Hobbits: Three’s a Charm

Peter Jackson has announced that his film adaptation of The Hobbit will be a trilogy. Jackson had hinted at the possibility earlier in July at the International Comic Con, but only officially announced his decision on his Facebook page today. Although it is unclear how he will stretch the film to three features, he has been very clear about incorporating ideas from Tolkien’s appendices into the story of The Hobbit. The three films will be released in 2012, 2013, and 2014.

For more information…