Herbert Award Winner

The winner of the first James Herbert Award was announced on April 1. The award, administered by Pan McMillan in partnership with the Serendip Foundation and the estate of James Herbert, is presented for excellence in horror fiction. The prize includes a statuette and £2,000. The first winner is Craig Davidson for his novel The Troop, published under the pseudonym “Nick Cutter.”
For more information…

James Herbert Award Nominees

Pan MacMillan has announced the nominees for the inaugural James Herbert Horror Award, presented in conjunction with the James Herbert estate and overseen by the Serendip Foundation. Horror novels written in English and published in the UK and Ireland between 1st January and 31st December 2014 were eligible. The judges include Ramsey Campbell, Rosie Fletcher, Kerry Herbert, Tom Hunter, Sarah Pinborough, and Dr Tony Venezi.

  • The Girl with All the Gifts, by M.R. Carey
  • The Troop, by Nick Cutter
  • Cuckoo Song, by Frances Hardinge
  • The Loney, by Andrew Michael Hurley
  • Bird Box, by Josh Malerman
  • An English Ghost Story, by Kim Newman

For more information…

Herbert Award Created

Pan Macmillan has announced the creation of the James Herbert Award for Horror Writing. The award, named for author James Herbert, will include a £2,000 prize and a commemorative statuette. Any horror novels written in English and published in the UK in 2014 are eligible and should be submitted for consideration by October 1, 2014. Herbert’s daughter, Kerry, will head a panel of five judges and expect to announce the shortlist in January of 2015.

For more information…