SFWA Named Jane Yolen Grand Master

SFWA has announced the Jane Yolen has been named the next Damon Knight Grand Master, to be inducted at the 2017 SFWA Nebula Conference in Pittsburgh the weekend of May 18-21. Yolen has published novels for juvenile, young adult and adult readers, as well as short fiction, picture books, and poetry as well as edited several anthologies. In 1986, her short story “Sister Emily’s Lightship” received a Nebula Award, as did her novelette “Lost Girls” in 1997.
For more information…

NESFA Fellows Named

NESFA bestowed the title of Fellow of NESFA on two individuals at Boskone 52 on February 15. Jane Yolen and Bruce Coville were both recognized for their contributions to science fiction and fannish culture.

Yolen Wins Medal

Jane Yolen received the University of Southern Mississippi Medallion, also known as the de Grummond Medal, at the University of Southern Mississippi’s Children’s Book Festival. The award was founded in 1969 and is given in recognition of an author’s dedication and influence on the field of children’s literature.

For more information… (pdf)

Midlist Writers Grant Announced

Jane Yolen and the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators have created a grant for mid-list authors to recognize those who “struggle to remain true to their personal vision and craft.” The first winner, announced at the SCBWI’s annual conference, is Mary Whittington, author of The Patchwork Lady, Troll Games, and Winter’s Child. Whittington received a grant of $2,000.

For more information…