Campbell and Sturgeon Finalists

The nominees for the John W. Campbell, Jr. Memorial Award and the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award have been announced. The Campbell award is given for a novel, the Sturgeon for a short story. Both awards will be presented during the Campbell Conference, to be held July 13-16, 2013 at the Oread Hotel in Lawrence KS.

John W. Campbell, Jr. Memorial Award Nominees

  • The Hydrogen Sonata, by Iain M. Banks
  • Any Day Now, by Terry Bisson
  • Existence, by David Brin
  • The Rapture of the Nerds, by Cory Doctorow & Charles Stross
  • Empty Space, by M. John Harrison
  • Intrusion, by Ken MacLeod
  • Railsea, by China Miéville
  • The Fractal Prince, by Hannu Rajaniemi
  • Blue Remembered Earth, by Alastair Reynolds
  • Jack Glass: The Story of a Murderer, by Adam Roberts
  • 2312, by Kim Stanley Robinson
  • Slow Apocalypse, by John Varley
  • Alif the Unseen, by G. Willow Wilson

Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award Nominees

  • “Things Greater Than Love,” by Kate Bachus
  • “Immersion,” by Aliette de Bodard
  • “Scattered Along the River of Heaven,” by Aliette de Bodard
  • “The Grinnell Method,” by Molly Gloss
  • After the Fall, Before the Fall, During the Fall, by Nancy Kress
  • “The Weight of History, the Lightness of the Future,” by Jay Lake
  • “The Bookmaking Habits of Select Species,” by Ken Liu
  • “Mono No Aware,” by Ken Liu
  • “Nahiiku West,” by Linda Nagata
  • Eater of Bone, by Robert Reed
  • “The Peak of Eternal Light,” by Bruce Sterling
  • “(To See the Other) Whole Against the Sky,” by E. Catherine Tobler

For more information…

Campbell and Sturgeon

The winners of the John W. Campbell, Jr. Award and the Theodore Sturgeon Award have been announced. The actual awards will be presented on Friday, July 6 at the University of Kansas Awards Banquet. The Campbell Award is given for the best sf novel of the year. The Sturgeon Award is given for the best short story of the year.

  • Campbell Award: (tie) The Highest Frontier, by Joan Slonczewski; The Islanders, by Christopher Priest
  • Sturgeon Award: “The Choice,” by Paul McAuley

For more information…

Sturgeon and Campbell Nominees

The nominations for this year’s Theodore Sturgeon Award and John W. Campbell, Jr. Memorial Award have been announced. Both awards will be presented at the Campbell Conference, scheduled for the weekend of July 7-10 in Lawrence, KS. This year’s Sturgeon jury includes James Gunn, Kij Johnson, Frederik Pohl, Noel Sturgeon, and George Zebrowski. The Campbell jury is made up of Gregory Benford, Paul Di Filippo, Sheila Finch, James Gunn, Elizabeth Anne Hull, Paul Kincaid, Christopher McKitterick, Pamela Sargent, and T.A. Shippey.

Sturgeon Nominees

  • “Mammoths of the Great Plains,” by Eleanor Arnason
  • “Under the Moons of Venus,” by Damien Broderick
  • “The Maiden Flight of McAuley’s Bellerophon,” by Elizabeth Hand
  • “The Sultan of the Clouds,” by Geoffrey A. Landis
  • “Flower, Mercy, Needle, Chain,” by Yoon Ha Lee
  • “Ghosts Doing the Orange Dance,” by Paul Park
  • “Dead Man’s Run,” by Robert Reed
  • “Troika,” by Alastair Reynolds
  • “A Letter from the Emperor,” by Steve Rasnic Tem
  • “The Night Train,” by Lavie Tidhar
  • “The Things,” by Peter Watts

Campbell Memorial Nominees

  • Yarn, by Jon Armstrong
  • Hull Zero Three, by Greg Bear
  • Zero History, by William Gibson
  • C, by Tom McCarthy
  • The Dervish House, by Ian McDonald
  • New Model Army, by Adam Roberts
  • The Quantum Thief, by Jannu Rajaniemi
  • Veteran, by Gavin Smith
  • The Waters Rising, by Sheri S. Tepper
  • Aurorarama, by Jean-Christophe Valtat
  • Anthill, by E.O. Wilson
  • Blackout/All Clear, by Connie Willis
  • How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe, by Charles Yu

For more information…