Sturgeon and Campbell Winners

The winners of the Campbell and Sturgeon Awards were announced on August 18 at the Campbell Conference, held this year in conjunction with MidAmeriCon II, the worldcon, in Kansas City, Mo. Both are juried awards, with the Campbell being presented for the Best SF Novel and the Sturgeon for Best Short Story. Next year, the Campbell Conference will be held in Lawrence, Kansas during its more traditional month of June.

  • John W. Campbell Award: Radiomen, by Eleanor Lerman
  • Theodore Sturgeon Award: “The Game of Smash and Recovery,” by Kelly Link

For more information…

edited to correct Sturgeon winner title.

Link Pulitzer Finalist

Although once again science fiction and fantasy failed to win any Pulitzer Prizes, SF/F was represented on the list of finalists. Author Kelly Link’s collection Get in Trouble Stories was one of the three finalists in the Fiction category, losing out to Viet Thanh Nguyen’s The Sympathizer. Link missed out on winning a Pulitzer in the 100th presentation of the award.
For more information…

E-Book Bundle For Charity

Eight authors, including Cory Doctorow, Mercedes Lackey, Paolo Bacigalupi, Lauren Beukes, Kelly Link, John Scalzi, Neil Gaiman, and Dave McKean, are offering up a bundle of e-books. The books are available in DRM-Free versions for a donation which will go to the authors and a variety of charities. Six books by the first five authors are available to anyone making a donation. Two additional books by Scalzi and Gaiman & McKean are available to anyone who donates more than the average donation at the time of purchase. The titles included are Doctorow’s Pirate Cinema, Lackey’s Invasion, Bacigalupi’s Pump Six, Beukes’s Zoo City, and Link’s Stranger Things Happen and Magic for Beginners. The addition books are Scalzi’s Old Man’s War and Gaiman & McKean’s Signal to Noise. The charities being helped include the SFWA Emergency Medical Fund, the Electronic Frontier Foundation, and Child’s Play Charity.

For more information…