El-Mohtar Named NYTBR Reviewer

Amal El-Mohtar has been named the reviewer for the New York Times Book Review Otherworldy column, which looks at science fiction and fantasy. El-Mohtar replaces N.K. Jemisin, who started the column in 2016. El-Mohtar won the Nebula, Locus, and Hugo Award last year. Her columns will begin to appear in late February.
For more information…

Eugie Foster Award

The winner of the Eugie Foster Award for short fiction was announced at Dragon Con on September 2. This year’s winner is N.K. Jemisin for her story “The City Born Great.” The award is presented in memory of Nebula winning author Eugie Foster.

More Dragon Award Withdrawal

N.K. Jemisin has announced that she has asked to withdraw her novel, The Obelisk Gate from the Dragon Award ballot. Jemisin’s announcement comes on the heels of similar announcements by Alison Littlewood and John Scalzi. While the Dragon Awards initially stated they would not honor requests to withdraw works for consideration, they reversed their decision, caused Littlewood’s work to be withdrawn and Scalzi to allow his work to remain on the ballot.

For more information…

Sputnik Finalists

The finalists for the first Sputnik Awards have been announced. The Sputnik finalists are determined by a complex system called Dungeon of Democracy. The awards were created by Jo Lindsay Walton. The winners will be announced later this year.

  • The Fifth Season, by N.K. Jemisin
  • Uprooted, by Naomi Novak

For more information…

Jemisin Reviews for the Times

The New York Times has announced that Nora Jemisin will begin a biweekly science fiction and fantasy review column entitled “Otherworldly.” The initial column features reviews of China Miéville’s This Census-Taker, Emma Newman’s Planetfall, Charlie Jane Anders’s All the Birds in the Sky, and Keith Lee Morris’s Travelers Rest.
For more information…