Nebula Awards

The Nebula Awards were presented on Saturday May 15 in Cocoa Beach. The weekend was scheduled to coincide with the final launch of the space shuttle Atlantis and many of the attendees watched the launch from the Causeway, with many of the nominees watching from NASA’s Banana River Viewing Area. Winners (including previously announced honorees) are listed below.

Solstice Awards: Tom Doherty, Terri Windling, Donald A. Wollheim
Service to SFWA: Vonda McIntyre, Keith Stokes
Author Emeritus: Neal Barrett, Jr.
Damon Knight Grand Master: Joe W. Haldeman
Andre Norton Award: The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making, Catherynne M. Valente
Ray Bradbury Award: Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell for District 9
Short Story: “Spar,” by Kij Johnson
Novelette: “Sinner, Baker, Fabulist, Priest; Red Mask, Black Mask, Gentleman, Beast,” by Eugie Foster
Novella: The Women of Nell Gwynne’s, Kage Baker
Novel: The Windup Girl, by Paolo Bacigalupi

For more information…

Streaming Nebulas

For the first time, this year’s Nebula Awards will be streamed live on the web. The webcast will begin at 7:00 Eastern Time, to coincide with the start of the Nebula banquet. The Awards ceremony is scheduled to begin at 8:15 Eastern Time.

To watch the Nebula Awards…

Nebula Winners

The 2008 Nebula Awards were presented on April 25 at the Grand Horizon Ballroom at Sunset Village on the UCLA campus. The evening was chaired by Christine Valada. Janis Ian served as toastmaster and Chuck Lorre gave the keynote address. Other awards included:

  • Best Novel: Powers, by Ursula K. Le Guin
  • Best Novella: “The Spacetime Pool,” by Catherine Asaro
  • Best Novelette: “Pride and Prometheus,” by John Kessel
  • Best Short Story: “Trophy Wives,” by Nina Kiriki Hoffman
  • Best Script: WALL-E, by Andrew Stanton, Jim Reardon, Original story by Andrew Stanton, Pete Docter
  • Andre Norton Award for Outstanding Young Adult Science Fiction/Fantasy Book: Flora’s Dare: How a Girl of Spirit Gambles All to Expand Her Vocabulary, Confront a Bouncing Boy Terror, and Try to Save Califa from a Shaky Doom (Despite Being Confined to Her Room), by Ysabeau S. Wilce
  • Damon Knight Grandmaster Award: Harry Harrison
  • SFWA Writer Emerita: M.J. Engh
  • Bradbury Award: Joss Whedon
  • SFWA Service Award: Victoria Strauss
  • Solstice Awards: Kate Wilhelm, Algis Budrys, Martin H. Greenberg

For more information…

Nebula Overhaul

The Nebula Awards have had their rules changed by SFWA. Rolling eligibility is gone and the number of recommendations required has been decreased from ten to five and nominations must be made during a set nomination period from November 15 to February 15. Active and Associate members will be allowed to nominate. Beginning with works published in 2009, there are no more Nebula juries. The Best Script award has been replaced by the Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation, and, like the Andre Norton Award for Outstanding Young Adult Science Fiction or Fantasy Book is not a Nebula. Although not confirmed, Associate members may be allowed to vote on the final ballot.

For More Information…

Nebula Preliminary Ballot Released

The SFWA has announced the Nebula Preliminary ballot. These are works published between January 1, 2007 and December 31, 2008 that received ten recommendations from the SFWA membership within twelve months of their publication, with the tenth recommendation arriving between January 1, 2008 and December 31, 2008. The membership will cull the categories down to a five selections in each category and juries may add an additional work in each category (more than one in the case of the Norton Award, which is not a Nebula). Categories with fewer than five items on the Preliminary ballot (Novella, Script, and Norton) will see all of those items on the final ballot.


  • A Betrayal in Winter, by Daniel Abraham
  • One for Sorrow, by Chris Barzak
  • Territory, by Emma Bull
  • Little Brother, by Cory Doctorow
  • In War Times, by Kathleen Ann Goonan
  • Powers, by Ursula K. Le Guin
  • Cauldron, by Jack McDevitt
  • Brasyl, by Ian McDonald
  • Making Money, by Terry Pratchett
  • The Name of the Wind, by Patrick Rothfuss


  • If Angels Fight, by Richard Bowes
  • Quaestiones Super Caelo et Mundo, by Michael F. Flynn
  • The Ray-Gun: A Love Story, by James Alan Gardner
  • Dark Rooms, by Lisa Goldstein
  • Pride and Prometheus, by John Kessel
  • The Prophet of Flores, by Ted Kosmatka
  • Finisterra, by David Moles
  • Baby Doll, by Johanna Sinisalo
  • Kaleidoscope, by K.D. Wentworth


  • The Spacetime Pool, by Catherine Asaro
  • Dark Heaven, by Gregory Benford
  • Dangerous Space, by Kelley Eskridge
  • The Political Prisoner, by Charles Coleman Finlay

Short Story

  • The Button Bin, by Mike Allen
  • Skull Valley, by Michael Cassutt
  • Stranger Than Imagination Can, by Sheila Finch
  • The Dreaming Wind, by Jeffrey Ford
  • Bottles, by Samantha Henderson
  • The Hotel Astarte, by M.K. Hobson
  • 26 Monkeys, Also the Abyss, by Kij Johnson
  • The Tomb Wife, by Gwyneth Jones
  • Don’t Stop, by James Patrick Kelly
  • Mars: A Traveler’s Guide, by Ruth Nestvold
  • The Astronaut, by Brian Plante
  • Holiday, by Mary Rickert
  • Summer in Paris, Light From the Sky, by Ken Scholes
  • How Music Begins, by James Van Pelt


  • WALL-E, by Andrew Stanton

No works made the preliminary ballot for the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy.

For More Information…