Golden Duck Awards

The winners of the 2013 Golden Duck Awards for Excellence in Children’s Science Fiction were announced at DucKon in Wheeling, Illinois the weekend of June 28. Although the winners were announced at DucKon, the presentation of awards will take place in August at LoneStarCon 3.

  • Picture Book: Oh No! Not Again! (Or How I Built a Time Machine to Save History) (Or at Least My History Grade), by Mac Barnett, illustrated by Dan Santat
  • Eleanor Cameron Award for Middle Grades: Alien on a Rampage, by Clete Smith
  • Hal Clement Award for Young Adults: tie Cinder, by Marissa Meyer

For more information…

Golden Duck Awards

The winners of the Golden Duck Awards, presented annually by SupderConDuckTivity, were presented at Chicon 7. The Golden Ducks are given to recognize excellence in young adult science fiction.

  • Picture Book: Earth to Clunk, by Pam Smallcomb, illustrated by Joe Berger
  • Eleanor Cameron Award for Middle Grades: Worst Case Scenario Ultimate Adventure #2: Mars!, by Hena Kahn and David Borgenicht
  • Hal Clement Award for Young Adults: tie A Beautiful Friendship, by David Weber; A Long, Long Sleep, by Anna Sheehan

For more information…

Obituary: Bill Trojan

Fan and publisher Bill Trojan (b.1948) died on August 21 in his hotel room shortly after the end of Renovation. Trojan, was a Eugene, Oregon area fan, the owner of Escape Books, and a collector and reseller of SF, Collectable Comic, and Pulp Fiction era books and original cover artwork was known for running Adventure House, which reprinted replicas of pulp adventure magazines and books. Trojan had been in Reno for the convention, where he was working as a volunteer.

Texas Wins Worldcon

Texas won the right to host the 71st World Science Fiction Convention in 2013. LoneStarCon 3 will be held in San Antonio, Texas from Aug. 29-Sept. 2. It will be sponsored by ALAMO. LoneStarCon 3 was elected with 694 votes out of 760 votes. Guests of Honor will be Ellen Datlow, James Gunn, Norman Spinrad, Darrel K. Sweet, and Willie Siros. Paul Cornell will serve as toastmaster.

For more information…

Hugo Winners Announced

The Hugo Awards were presented on August 20 at Renovation, the 69th World Science Fiction Convention. The winners are listed below.

  • Best Novel: Blackout/All Clear, by Connie Willis
  • Best Novella: The Lifecycle of Software Objects, by Ted Chiang
  • Best Novelette: “The Emperor of Mars,” by Allen M. Steele
  • Best Short Story: “For Want of a Nail,” by Mary Robinette Kowal
  • Best Related Work: Chicks Dig Time Lords: A Celebration of Doctor Who by the Women Who
    Love It
    , edited by Lynne M. Thomas and Tara O’Shea

  • Best Graphic Story: Girl Genius, Volume 10: Agatha Heterodyne and the Guardian Muse,
    written by Phil and Kaja Foglio; art by Phil Foglio; colors by Cheyenne Wright

  • Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form: Inception, written and directed by Christopher Nolan
  • Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form: Doctor Who: “The Pandorica Opens”/”The Big Bang,” written by Steven Moffat; directed by Toby Haynes
  • Best Editor Short Form: Sheila Williams
  • Best Editor Long Form: Lou Anders
  • Best Professional Artist: Shaun Tan
  • Best Semi Prozine: Clarkesworld, edited by Neil Clarke, Cheryl Morgan, Sean Wallace; podcast directed by Kate Baker
  • Best Fanzine: The Drink Tank, edited by Christopher J Garcia and James Bacon
  • Best Fan Writer: Claire Brialey
  • Best Fan artist: Brad W. Foster
  • John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer: Lev Grossman

For more information…

Chesley Awards

The Chesley Awards were presented by the Association of Science Fiction and Fantasy Artists (ASFA) at Renovation on August 18. The Chesleys recognize excellence in speculative fiction art.

  • Best Cover Illustration – Paperback Book: Jason Chan, for Geist, by Phillipa Ballantine
  • Best Cover Illustration – Hardback Book: Michael Whelan, for The Way of Kings, by Brandon Sanderson
  • Best Cover Illustration – Magazine: Nick Greenwood, for Orson Scott Card’s Intergalactic Medicine Show, 6/10
  • Best Interior Illustration: Donato Giancola, Middle Earth: Visions of a Modern Myth, by Donato Giancola
  • Best Three-Dimensional Art: Mark Newman, “Eel Walker”; bronze
  • Best Color Work—Unpublished: Julie Dillon, “Planetary Alignment”; digital
  • Best Monochrome Work – Unpublished: Ian Miller, “Triptych”; ink
  • Best Product Illustration: Sam Weber, Shadow Rising, by Robert Jordan, promo art for Tor ebook, 1/10
  • Best Gaming-Related Illustration: Lucas Graciano, “Amorphous Drake” Legends of Norrath
  • Best Art Director: Jon Schindehette, for Wizards of the Coast
  • Award for Lifetime Artistic Achievement: Boris Vallejo

For more information…

Sidewise Award Winners

The Sidewise Awards for Alternate History were presented on Thursday evening at Renovation, the 69th World Science Fiction Convention. Both winners were present.

  • Long Form: When Angels Wept: A What-If History of the Cuban Missile Crisis, by Eric G. Swedin
  • Short Form: :A Clash of Eagles,” by Alan Smale

For more information…

WOOF Call for ‘Zines

Seattle fan Randy Byers has been announced as the editor of this year’s WOOF, (World Organization Of Faneditors). Any fanzine editors (including rookies) who would like to contribute ‘zines for inclusion, should contact Randy and give him a title and page count for the table of contents. As Renovation is the 69th Worldcon, each editor should supply 69 copies.

For more information…

Prometheus Awards

The winners of the 2010 Prometheus Awards have been announced by the Libertarian Futurist Society. The Prometheus Awards are given to honor excellence in libertarian science fiction. The awards will be presented at Renovation in August.

  • Best Novel: Darkship Thieves, by Sarah Hoyt
  • Hall of Fame Award: Animal Farm, by George Orwell

For more information…

Sidewise Award Nominees

This year’s nominees for the Sidewise Award for Alternate History have been announced. The winners will be announced at Renovation, this year’s Worldcon, in Reno, Nevada during the weekend of August 17. The awards ceremony has tentatively been scheduled for Thursday, August 18 at 9:00 PM. The Sidewise Awards have been presented annually since 1995 to recognize excellence in alternate historical fiction. This year’s panel of judges was made up of Stephen Baxter, Evelyn Leeper, Jim Rittenhouse, Stu Shiffman, Kurt Sidaway, and Steven H Silver.

Short Form

  • Mammoths of the Great Plains, by Eleanor Arnason
  • “Alten Kameraden,” by Barry B. Longyear
  • “Sidewinders,” by Ken MacLeod
  • “A Clash of Eagles,” by Alan Smale
  • “Goin’ Down to Anglotown,” by William F. Wu

Long Form

  • Columbia & Britannia, by Adam Chamberlain & Brian A. Dixon
  • Red Inferno: 1945, by Robert Conroy
  • Pinion, by Jay Lake
  • When Angels Wept, by Eric Swedin

For more information…