Sunburst Nominees Announced

The finalists for the tenty annual Sunburst Award have been announced. The Sunburst Award for Canadian Literature of the Fantastic is presented by a jury and includes a cash prize of Can$1,000, and a medallion creted by Marcel Gagné. Awards are given in two categories, adult and young adult.

Adult Fiction

  • The Mystery of Grace, by Charles de Lint
  • Indigo Springs, by A.M. Dellamonica
  • makers, by Cory Doctorow
  • The Sunless Countries, by Karl Schroeder
  • Julian Comstock, by Robert Charles Wilson

Young Adult Fiction

  • Give Up the Ghost, by Megan Crewe
  • Amy By Any Other Name, by Maureen Garvie
  • Half World, by Hiromi Goto
  • Wondrous Strange, by Lesley Livingston
  • The Hunchback Assignment, by Arthur Slade

For more information…

Sunburst Nominees

The nominees for the Sunburst Award, given annually to the best Canadian science novel, have been announced. The winners will be announced in September. The Sunburst Award includes a prize of Can$1000 and a hand-crafted medallion.

Adult Novel:

  • Night Child, by Jes Battis
  • The Gargoyle, by Andrew Davidson
  • The Alchemist’s Code, by Dave Duncan
  • Things Go Flying, by Shari Lapeña
  • Half a Crown, by Jo Walton

Young Adult Novel

  • The Summoning, by Kelley Armstrong
  • Dingo, by Charles de Lint
  • Little Brother, by Cory Doctorow
  • Wild Talent, by Eileen Kernaghan
  • Night Runner, by Max Turner

For more information…