Fantastiknovelltävlingen Winners

The winners of the thirteen annual Fantastiknovelltävlingen, a short story contest run by the Swedish e-mail list SKRIVA with support from the writers group Novellmästarna, have been announced. The winners share a €200 prize.

  • 1st prize “Hemliga lådan,” by Robin Karlsson (“The Secret Box”)
  • 2nd prize “Tvättstugan,” by Jonas Lejon (“The Laundry Room”)
  • 3rd prize “Inbjudningskortet,” by Patrik Centerwall (“The Invitation Card”)

For more information… (Swedish)

World SF Travel Fund Recipients

Swedish authors Karin Tidbeck and Nene Ormes have been named the recipients of the World SF Travel Fund, which will permit the two women to travel to Toronto, Canada to attend this year’s World Fantasy Convention, with additional assistance from Cheeky Frawg Books, run by Ann and Jeff VanderMeer. The selection board was comprised of Lauren Beukes, Aliette de Bodard, Nnedi Okorafor, Ekaterina Sedia, and Charles Tan. Lavie Tidhar and Sean Wallace administer the fund.

For more information…

Obituary: Kristiina Kolehmainen

Swedish librarian Kristiina Kolehmainen (b.1953) died on March 27. Kolehmainen founded the Serieteket, the comics library housed within Stockholm’s Kulturhuset. Since 1998, Kolehmainen also served as director of the Stockholm International Comics Festival/Small Press Expo, helping to build the event.

Obituary: Arne Sjögren

Swedish fan Arne Sjögren (b.1940) died on January 7. In the mid-60s, Sjögren co-edited the clubzine Cosmos Bulletin with Ingemar Nilsson. Sjögren also published some short fiction and critical essays.

Obituary: Anders Åkerlind

Swedish fan Anders Åkerlind (b.1960?) died on February 11, 2011. Åkerlind was active from the late 70s through the mid-80s. he founded the APA SFF (Swedish Fanzine Association). More recently, he played with the band Saturn Girl and the Toneheroes.

Obituary: Christoffer Schander

Swedish fan Christoffer Schander (b.1960) died on February 20. Schander published the fanzines Semikolon A & B and I väntan på PEP and was active in the APA Efterapa. In 1981, he helped run Regncon. In 2011, he was named director of Bergen’s University Museum.

A Fan in Parliament

Swedish fan Amelia Andersdotter has been permitted to take her seat representing Sweden in the EU Parliament. Andersdotter was elected to Parliament in 2009 representing the Swedish Pirate Party, but owing to internal EU red tape only now been able to claim her seat.

For more information…

Fantasiknovelltävlingen Winners

The winners of the 2011 Fantasiknovelltävlingen (Fantastic Short Story Competition) were announced. The Fantasiknovelltävlingen has been running in Sweden since 2000 and is sponsored by SKRIVA, a writer’s list. First prize receives €100, with second prize receiving €50 and third receiving €30. Case prizes were donated by Novellmästarna. For the first time, all three prizes were won by women.

  • 1st Prize: “Tåg,” by Susanne Samuelsson
  • 2nd Prize: “Bortom Brahms,” by Caroline Jensen
  • 3rd Prize: “Grus i maskineriet,” by Marita H. Linkkruus

Astrid Lindgren Award

Shaun Tan has been announced as the recipient of the 2011 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award for children’s literature. The award, which comes with a 5 million kroner prize (approximately $800,000), is given for Tan’s body of work in children’s literature to this date, which includes The Rabbits, The Lost Thing, The Red Tree, The Arrival, and Tales from Outer Suburbia. Earlier this year, Tan won an Oscar for the film adaptation of The Lost Thing and last year he was the Worldcon Artist Guest of Honor.

For more information…

Obituary: Hans Arnold

Artist Hans Arnold (b.1925) died on October 25. Arnold was born in Switzerland and moved to Sweden in 1947. Throughout the 50s, 60s, and 70s, he provided illustrations for various short fiction magazines. Mostly known for his horror illustrations, Arnold helped found the Swedish Horror Academy.