FAAN Awards

The FAAN Achievement Awards were presented at Corflu 35, held from May 4-6 in Toronto, Canada.

  • Best Fanzine: Beam, edited by Nic Farey & Ulrika O’Brien
  • Best Perzine: Vibrator, by Graham Charnock
  • Best Special Publication: Same Planet, Different World: Jacq Monahan’s TAFF Report, by Jacq Monahan
  • Best Fan Writer: Randy Byers
  • Best Fan Artist: Steve Stiles
  • Best Fanzine Cover: Rubber Crab #8, cover by Graham West
  • Online Activity: efanzines.com
  • #1 Fan Face: Jacq Monahan
  • Harry Warner Jr Letterhack: Tie: Robert Lichtman & Milt Stevens
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Bruce Gillespie

FAAN Awards

The winners of the FAAN Award, selected by members of Corflu, were announced today at Corflu 34 in Las Vegas. In 2018, Corflu will take place in Toronto.

  • Fan Artist: Steve Stiles
  • Fanzine Cover: BEAM 10, by Harry Bell
  • Genzine: Banana Wings
  • Letterhack: Paul Skelton
  • Perzine: The White Notebooks
  • Special Issue: THEN
  • Fan Writer: Andy Hooper
  • Fan Website: eFanzines.com
  • Past President of Fanzine Writers of America: Pete Young

CUFF Nominations Open

The Canadian Unity Fan Fund is looking for nominees to run for a visit to SFContario 6 in Toronto in November. Fans who wish to nominate should contact administrator Debra Yeung before May 31 and need three nominators from Eastern Canada and three from Western Canada. Voting will run through the month of June.

For more information…

SMOFCon Scholarships

CanSMOF has announced the award of this year’s two scholarships to attend SMOFCon 31 in Toronto, Canada the weekend of December 6-8. Each winner will receive C$500 to help defray the cost of attending the convention. Jenni Merrifield of Port Moody, BC will receive the award for a Canadian attendee and Pablo M.A Vazquez III of Austin, TX will receive the award available to any con-runner throughout the world.

For more information…

World Fantasy Awards

The World Fantasy Awards were presented at a banquet at the World Fantasy Con in Toronto, Canada on November 4. The winners are listed below.

  • Novel: Osama, by Lavie Tidhar
  • Novella: “A Small Price to Pay for Birdsong,” by K.J. Parker
  • Short Story: “The Paper Menagerie,” by Ken Liu
  • Anthology: The Weird, edited by Ann & Jeff VanderMeer
  • Collection: The Bible Repairman and Other Stories, by Tim Powers
  • Artist: John Coulthart
  • Special Award—Professional: Eric Lane, for publishing in translation – Dedalus books
  • Special Award—Non-professional: Raymond Russell & Rosalie Parker, for Tartarus Press

For more information…

ChiZine Announces Teen Imprint

ChiZine Publications has announced a new imprint focusing on Young Adult fiction. ChiTeen will launch in the Spring of 2014 with The Unlikely But Totally True Adventures of Floating Boy and Anxiety Girl, by Paul Tremblay and Stephen Graham Jones. ChiTeen will offer the same dark and weird stories as the works ChiZine has previously published, but with subject matter more suited for a younger audience.

For more information…

World Fantasy Award Nominations

The nominations for the World Fantasy Awards have been announced. The prizes will be presented at a banquet at World Fantasy Con, scheduled to be held in Toronto, Canada on November 4.


  • Those Across the River, by Christopher Buehlman
  • 11/22/63, by Stephen King
  • A Dance with Dragons, by George R.R. Martin
  • Osama, by Lavie Tidhar
  • Among Others, by Jo Walton


  • “Near Zennor,” by Elizabeth Hand
  • “A Small Price to Pay for Birdsong,” by K.J. Parker
  • “Alice Through the Plastic Sheet,” by Robert Shearman
  • “Rose Street Attractors,” by Lucius Shepard
  • Silently and Very Fast, by Catherynne M. Valente

Short Story:

  • “X for Demetrious,” by Steve Duffy
  • “Younger Women,” by Karen Joy Fowler
  • “The Paper Menagerie,” by Ken Liu
  • “A Journey of Only Two Paces,” by Tim Powers
  • “The Cartographer Wasps and the Anarchist Bees,” by E. Lily Yu


  • Blood and Other Cravings, edited by Ellen Datlow
  • A Book of Horrors, edited by Stephen Jones
  • The Thackery T. Lambshead Cabinet of Curiosities, edited by Ann & Jeff VanderMeer
  • The Weird, edited by Ann & Jeff VanderMeer
  • Gutshot, edited by Conrad Williams


  • Bluegrass Symphony, by Lisa L. Hannett
  • Two Worlds and In Between, by Caitlín R. Kiernan
  • After the Apocalypse, by Maureen F. McHugh
  • Mrs Midnight and Other Stories, by Reggie Oliver
  • The Bible Repairman and Other Stories, by Tim Powers


  • John Coulthart
  • Julie Dillon
  • Jon Foster
  • Kathleen Jennings
  • John Picacio

Special Award Professional:

  • John Joseph Adams, for editing – anthology and magazine
  • Jo Fletcher, for editing – Jo Fletcher Books
  • Eric Lane, for publishing in translation – Dedalus books
  • Brett Alexander Savory & Sandra Kasturi, for ChiZine Publications
  • Jeff VanderMeer & S.J. Chambers, for The Steampunk Bible

Special Award Non-Professional:

  • Kate Baker, Neil Clarke, Cheryl Morgan & Sean Wallace, for Clarkesworld
  • Cat Rambo, for Fantasy
  • Raymond Russell & Rosalie Parker, for Tartarus Press
  • Charles Tan, for Bibliophile Stalker blog
  • Mark Valentine, for Wormwood

Lifetime Achievement winners:

  • Alan Garner
  • George R.R. Martin

For more information…

Obituary: David Ryan Bisci

Toronto fan David Ryan Bisci (b.1990) died on April 11. Bisci was involved in running SFContario and had a passion for Star Wars and Star Trek. He also participated in the annual Toronto Zombie Crawl. He had been attending George Brown College to study hospitality.

Battle of the Toronto Cons

Hobby Star is suing Wizard World over the use of the name Toronto Comicon. Hobby Star has run the Toronto Comicon for several years and claims that the newer Wizard World Toronto Comic Con is infringing on its name and misrepresenting itself as being related. Hobby Star is also claiming Wizard World is defaming Hobby Star by claiming that company is threatening reprisals against vendors who exhibit at both events.

For more information…

Aurora Award Winners

The English language Aurora Awards for Canadian Science Fiction were presented this weekend in Toronto at SFContario 2. The Francophone winners were announced on May 15 in Montreal. The winners are listed below.

  • Best Novel – English: WWW: Watch, by Robert J. Sawyer
  • Best Short Form – English: “The Burden of Fire,” by Hayden Trenholm
  • Best Poem/Song: “The ABCs of the End of the World,” by Carolyn Clink
  • Best Graphic Novel – English: Goblins, by Tarol Hunt
  • Best Related Work – English: The Dragon and the Stars, edited by Derwin Mak and Eric Choi
  • Best Artist: Erik Mohr
  • Best Fan Filk: Dave Clement and Tom Jeffers
  • Best Fan Organizational: Helen Marshall and Sandra Kasturi for Toronto SpecFic Colloquium
  • Best Fan Other: John Mansfield and Linda Ross Mansfield, Aurora Award pins

For more information…