Retro Hugo Award Winners

The Retro Hugos were announced on August 18 at MidAmeriCon II in Kansas City, followed by a 1930s themed dance. The Retro Hugos are given out 50, 75, or 100 years after a Worldcon in which the Hugos were not previously awarded.

  • Best Novel: Slan, by A.E. Van Vogt
  • Best Novella: “If This Goes On…,” by Robert A. Heinlein
  • Best Novelette: “The Roads Must Roll,” by Robert A. Heinlein
  • Best Short Story: “Robbie,” by Isaac Asimov
  • Best Graphic Story: Batman #1
  • Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form): Fantasia
  • Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form): Pinocchio
  • Best Editor – Short Form: John W. Campbell
  • Best Professional Artist: Virgil Finlay
  • Best Fanzine: Futuria Fantasia, by Ray Bradbury
  • Best Fan Writer: Ray Bradbury

Astronauts at Worldcon

MidAmeriCon II has announced that US astronauts Jeanette Epps and Stanley G. Love will attend the convention as Special Guests from Friday through Sunday of the convention. Love flew on STS-122 in 2008 and Epps is training for a six month mission in 2018. Both have also participating NASA’s aquatic explorations, Love on NEEMO 16 and Epps on Neemo 18.
For more information…

Worldcon 75 Seeks Developers

Worldcon 75, the 2017 Worldcon to be held in Helsinki, has created a DevOps division and is looking for computer coders who are interested in working on a variety of projects including authentication services, member self-management, and new Hugo Award software.
For more information…

Worldcon and NASFIC Site Selection

MidAmeriCon II has announced that site selection is now open for the 2018 Worldcon and the 2017 NASFIC. Site selection is conducted by mail or in person with no electronic voting options available. Any member of MidAmeriCon II may vote in site selection if they pay the site selection fee, which will convert to a supporting membership for the winning bid. The fee is $40 for the 2018 Worldcon site selection and $25 for the 2017 NASFIC site selection.

2018 Worldcon

  • New Orleans in 2018, chaired by Raymond Boudreau and Mike Willmoth
  • San Jose in 2018, chaired by Kevin Roche


  • San Juan, Puerto Rico, chaired by Pablo Vasquez
  • Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, chaired by Michael VanHelder

For more information…

MidAmeriCon II Management Restructure

MidAmeriCon II, this year’s Worldcon, has announced that their upper management team has been restructured. Ruth Lichtwardt will remain as the convention’s sole chair with Diane Lacey acting has her vice chair. The third member of Team LOL, as their management team was called, Jeff Orth, is currently handling a variety of tasks until they determine where his skills will best benefit the convention.
For more information…


With the bid filing date a week in the past, MidAmeriCon II has confirmed that a group bidding for Valley Forge has filed bid papers for a previously unannounced NASFiC bid for 2017. San Juan in 2017 has also bee running and has filed papers, so there will be a contested vote to host the 2017 NASFiC. MidAmeriCon II hopes to update the website this week to reflect all filing bidders for the 2017 NASFiC and 2018 Worldcon.

MidAmeriCon II Hugo Base Contest

MidAmeriCon II has announced a contest to design the base of this year’s Hugo Award. Design proposals will be accepted until January 18, 2016, and the winner will be selected by late February. The winner of the base design competition will receive a full attending membership for the convention and will be invited to take part in the public unveiling of the design.

For more information…

San Jose in 2018 Invites GoH Input

The committee trying to bring the 2018 Worldcon to San Jose has announced that they are taking suggestions for Guests of Honor in several categories, including Writing, Editing, Art, Music, Science, and Fandom. Generally Worldcon GoHs should have a career spanning at least 30 years and still be relevant to the community. It is rare that a previous Guest of Honor is honored a second time. Recommendations, along with an explanation for why they should be honored, may be sent to

Helsinki in 2017

Preliminary reports indicate that Helsinki has won the right to host the 2017 Worldcon. Helsinki received approximately 52% of the votes on the first ballot, winning outright in a race with Washington, DC, Montreal, and Shizuoka. The official results, convention name, and Guests of Honor will be announced at the Saturday business meeting at Sasquan.

Hugo Ballot Changes

Sasquan has announced changes to the Hugo Ballot based on two nominees being found ineligible. John C. Wright’s novelette “Yes, Virginia, There is a Santa Claus” was determined to be a reprint, having previously appeared on his website in 2013 and artist Jon Eno did not publish any eligible work in 2014. Wright’s story has been replaced by Thomas Olde Heuvelt’s “The Day The World Turned Upside Down” and Eno has been replaced by Kirk DouPonce. Two other investigations determined the nominees in those categories were significant expansions of previously published works and were eligible. The revised categories are listed below.

Best Novelette

  • “Ashes to Ashes, Dust to Dust, Earth to Alluvium,” by Gray Rinehart
  • “Championship B’tok,” by Edward M. Lerner
  • “The Day The World Turned Upside Down,” by Thomas Olde Heuvelt
  • “The Journeyman: In the Stone House,” by Michael F. Flynn
  • “The Triple Sun: A Golden Age Tale,” by Rajnar Vajra

Best Professional Artist

  • Julie Dillon
  • Kirk DouPonce
  • Nick Greenwood
  • Alan Pollack
  • Carter Reid