Awards Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
Arthur C. Clarke Award Nominees

Stephen Baxter Titan (HarperCollins Voyager)
Elizabeth Hand Glimmering (HarperCollins Voyager)
James Lovegrove Days (Phoenix)
Jeff Noon Nymphomation (Doubleday)
Mary Doria Russell The Sparrow (Black Swan)
Sheri S. Tepper The Family Tree (HarperCollins Voyager)

The nominees for the Arthur C. Clarke Award, for the best science fiction novel that received its first British publication in 1997, have been announced. The winner, who receives an engraved bookend and a prize of £1000 donated by Arthur C. Clarke, will be announced at a ceremony at the Science Museum in London later this spring.

This is the 12th year of the Clarke Awards. Last year's winner was Amitav Ghosh's The Calcutta Syndrome. Previous winners include Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale (1986), Geoff Ryman's The Child Garden (1989), Paul J. McAuley's Fairyland (1995), and two books by Pat Cadigan -- Synners (1991) and Fools (1994).

Previous Arthur C. Clarke Awards

Paul Kincaid (chair/administrator)
Tanya Brown
Dr. Andrew M. Butler (BSFA)
John Clute
Farah Mendelsohn (SF Foundation)

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide