Awards Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
2001 Nebula Award Nominees
Nebula Award
Photo by Laura Mixon

The final ballot for this year's Nebula Awards has been released by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA). The 2001 Nebula Awards Final Ballot includes eligible works first published or released in 2000 and 2001. Winners will be announced during the Nebula Awards Weekend Westin Crown Center in Kansas City, April 25-28, 2002.

Founded in 1965, the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America began with about 80 writers. It now has over 1,000 members. Active members of SFWA vote for the Nebula Awards. The awards are given each year for the best novel, novella, novelette, and short story eligible for that year's award. The script category was added in recent years. Each year, an anthology, including the winning pieces of short fiction and several runners-up, is also published. Each spring the awards are given out at the Nebula Awards Banquet over a weekend of meetings and panel discussions.

The Grand Master Award is given to a living author for a lifetime's achievement in science fiction or fantasy or both. Nominations for the Grand Master Nebula Award are made by the president of SFWA and awarded after approval of a majority of the SFWA officers.

The Quantum Rose, Catherine Asaro (Tor)
Eternity's End, Jeffrey A. Carver (Tor)
Mars Crossing, Geoffrey A. Landis (Tor)
A Storm of Swords, George R.R. Martin (Bantam Spectra)
The Collapsium, Wil McCarthy (Del Rey)
The Tower at Stony Wood, Patricia A. McKillip (Ace)
Declare, Tim Powers (Subterranean Press, Tor and William Morrow)
Passage, Connie Willis (Bantam)

Novella (17,500-39,999 words):
"A Roll of the Dice", Catherine Asaro (Analog, Jul/Aug00)
"May Be Some Time", Brenda Clough (Analog, Apr01)
"The Diamond Pit", Jack Dann (F&SF, Jun01)
"Radiant Green Star", Lucius Shepard (Asimov's, Aug00)
"The Ultimate Earth", Jack Williamson (Analog, Dec00)

Best Novelette (7,500-17,499 words):
"To Kiss the Star", Amy Sterling Casil (F&SF, Feb01)
"The Pottawatomie Giant", Andy Duncan (SCI FICTION, Nov 1, 00)
"Undone", James Patrick Kelly (Asimov's, Jun01)
"Louise's Ghost", Kelly Link (Stranger Things Happen, Small Beer Press, Jul01)
"Auspicious Eggs", James Morrow (F&SF, Oct/Nov00)
"Dance of the Yellow-Breasted Luddites", William Shunn (Vanishing Acts, Ellen Datlow, Ed., Tor)

Short Story (7,499 words or fewer):
"Kaddish for the Last Survivor", Michael A. Burstein (Analog, Nov00)
"The Cure for Everything", Severna Park (SCI FICTION, Jun 22, 00)
"The Elephants on Neptune", Mike Resnick (Asimov's, May00)
"Mom and Dad at the Home Front", Sherwood Smith (Realms of Fantasy, Aug00)
"Wound the Wind", George Zebrowski (Analog, May01)

O Brother, Where Art Thou?, Ethan Coen and Joel Coen (Touchstone/Universal)
X-Men, Tom DeSanto & Bryan Singer (story); David Hayter (screenplay) (20th Century Fox)
Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, James Schamus, Kuo Jung Tsai, and Hui-Ling Wang: (Sony Pictures Classics)
The Body, Joss Whedon (Buffy the Vampire Slayer)

Grand Master Award Winners
Robert A. Heinlein (1974)
Jack Williamson (1975)
Clifford D. Simak (1976)
L. Sprague de Camp (1978)
Fritz Leiber (1981)
Andre Norton (1983)
Arthur C. Clarke (1985)
Isaac Asimov (1986)
Alfred Bester (1987)
Ray Bradbury (1988)
Lester Del Rey (1990)
Frederik Pohl (1992)
Damon Knight (1994)
A.E. Van Vogt (1995)
Jack Vance (1996)
Poul Anderson (1997)
Hal Clement (1998)
Brian Aldiss (1999)
Philip Jose Farmer (2000)

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide