Awards Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
Nebula Awards
Nebula Award
Photo by Laura Mixon

The final ballot for this year's Nebula Awards has been released by the Science-fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. Winners will be announced during the Nebula Awards Weekend, May 1-3, 1998, in Santa Fe, New Mexico.

Founded in 1965, the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America began with about 80 writers. It now has over 1,000 members. Active members of SFFWA vote for the Nebula Awards. The awards are given each year for the best novel, novella, novelette, and short story eligible for that year's award. Each year, an anthology, including the winning pieces of short fiction and several runners-up, is also published. Each spring the awards are given out at the Nebula Awards Banquet over a weekend of meetings and panel discussions.

The Grand Master Award is given to a living author for a lifetime's achievement in science fiction or fantasy or both. Nominations for the Grand Master Nebula Award are made by the president of SFFWA and awarded after approval of a majority of the SFFWA officers.

Grand Master Award Winners
Robert A. Heinlein (1974)
Jack Williamson (1975)
Clifford D. Simak (1976)
L. Sprague de Camp (1978)
Fritz Leiber (1981)
Andre Norton (1983)
Arthur C. Clarke (1985)
Isaac Asimov (1986)
Alfred Bester (1987)
Ray Bradbury (1988)
Lester Del Rey (1990)
Frederik Pohl (1992)
Damon Knight (1994)
A.E. Van Vogt (1995)
Jack Vance (1996)
1997 Nebula Award Nominees
Novel (40,000 words or more):
Memory, Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen 10/96)
King's Dragon, Kate Elliott (DAW 2/97)
A Game of Thrones, George R.R. Martin (Bantam Spectra 8/96)
Ancient Shores, Jack McDevitt (HarperPrism 4/96)
The Moon and the Sun, Vonda N. McIntyre (Pocket 9/97)
City on Fire, Walter Jon Williams (HarperPrism 1/97)
Bellwether, Connie Willis (Bantam Spectra 4/96)

Novella (17,500-39,999 words):
"The Funeral March of the Marionettes", Adam-Troy Castro (F&SF 7/97)
"Loose Ends", Paul Levinson (Analog 5/97)
"Abandon in Place", Jerry Oltion (F&SF 12/96)
"Chrysalis", Robert Reed (Asimov's 9/96)
"Primrose and Thorn", Bud Sparhawk (Analog 5/96)
"...Where Angels Fear to Tread", Allen Steele (Asimov's 10-11/97)

Best Novelette (7,500-17,499 words):
"The Dog's Story", Eleanor Arnason (Asimov's 5/96)
"Three Hearings on the Existence of Snakes in the Human Bloodstream", James Alan Gardner (Asimov's 2/97)
"We Will Drink a Fish Together...", Bill Johnson (Asimov's 5/97)
"The Miracle of Ivar Avenue", John Kessel (Intersections 2/96, Asimov's 9/96)
"The Flowers of Aulit Prison", Nancy Kress (Asimov's 10-11/96)
"The Copyright Notice Case", Paul Levinson (Analog 4/96)
"The Undiscovered", William Sanders (Asimov's 3/97)

Short Story (7,499 words or fewer):
"The Crab Lice", Gregory Feeley (Alternate Tyrants 3/97)
"The Elizabeth Complex", Karen Joy Fowler (Crank! 6 4/96)
"Itsy Bitsy Spider", James Patrick Kelly (Asimov's 6/97)
"The Dead", Michael Swanwick (Starlight 1 9/96)
"Burning Bright", K.D. Wentworth (Aboriginal Summer 96)
"Sister Emily's Lightship", Jane Yolen (Starlight 1 9/96)

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide