Awards Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
2002 Nebula Awards
Nebula Award
Photo by Laura Mixon

The 2002 Nebula Awards includes eligible works first published or released in 2001 and 2002. Winners were announced at the Nebula Award banquet in Philadelphia, April 19, 2003.

Founded in 1965, the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America began with about 80 writers. It now has over 1,000 members. Active members of SFWA vote for the Nebula Awards. The awards are given each year for the best novel, novella, novelette, and short story eligible for that year's award. The script category was added in recent years. Each year, an anthology, including the winning pieces of short fiction and several runners-up, is also published. Each spring the awards are given out at the Nebula Awards Banquet over a weekend of meetings and panel discussions.

The Grand Master Award is given to a living author for a lifetime's achievement in science fiction or fantasy or both. Nominations for the Grand Master Nebula Award are made by the president of SFWA and awarded after approval of a majority of the SFWA officers.

American Gods, Neil Gaiman (Morrow)
Bones of the Earth, Michael Swanwick (Eos)
The Other Wind, Ursula K. Le Guin (Harcourt Brace)
Perdido Street Station, China Miéville (Del Rey)
Picoverse, Robert A. Metzger (Ace)
Solitaire, Kelley Eskridge (Eos)

Novella (17,500-39,999 words):
"Bronte's Egg", Richard Chwedyk (F&SF Aug 2002)
"The Chief Designer", Andy Duncan (Asimov's Jun 2001)
"Magic's Price", Bud Sparhawk (Analog Mar 2001)
"The Political Officer", Charles Coleman Finlay (F&SF Apr 2002)
"Sunday Night Yams at Minnie and Earl's", Adam-Troy Castro (Analog Jun 2001)

Best Novelette (7,500-17,499 words):
"Hell is the Absence of God", Ted Chiang (Starlight 3, Patrick Nielsen Hayden, ed., Tor)
"The Days Between", Allen Steele (Asimov's Mar 2001)
"The Ferryman's Wife", Richard Bowes (F&SF May 2001)
"Lobsters", Charles Stross (Asimov's Jun 2001)
"Madonna of the Maquiladora", Gregory Frost (Asimov's May 2002)
"The Pagodas of Ciboure", M. Shayne Bell (The Green Man: Tales From the Mythic Forest, Datlow/Windling, eds; Viking)

Short Story (7,499 words or fewer):
"Creature", Carol Emshwiller (F&SF Oct/Nov 2001)
"Creation", Jeffrey Ford (F&SF May 2002)
"Cut", Megan Lindholm (Asimov's May 2001)
"The Dog Said Bow-Wow", Michael Swanwick (Asimov's Nov 2001)
"Little Gods", Tim Pratt (Strange Horizons Feb 2002)
"Nothing Ever Happens in Rock City", Jack McDevitt (Artemis Summer 2001)

The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring, Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens & Peter Jackson (New Line Cinema)
Buffy the Vampire Slayer: "Once More with Feeling", Joss Whedon
The Dead Zone: "Unreasonable Doubt", Michael Taylor (created for TV by Michael Piller and Shawn Piller, based on characters from the Stephen King novel)
Shrek, Ted Elliott & Terry Rossio (DreamWorks)

Grand Master Award Winners
Robert A. Heinlein (1974)
Jack Williamson (1975)
Clifford D. Simak (1976)
L. Sprague de Camp (1978)
Fritz Leiber (1981)
Andre Norton (1983)
Arthur C. Clarke (1985)
Isaac Asimov (1986)
Alfred Bester (1987)
Ray Bradbury (1988)
Lester Del Rey (1990)
Frederik Pohl (1992)
Damon Knight (1994)
A.E. Van Vogt (1995)
Jack Vance (1996)
Poul Anderson (1997)
Hal Clement (1998)
Brian Aldiss (1999)
Philip Jose Farmer (2000)
Ursula K. Le Guin (2002)

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide