Awards Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
1997 Sidewise Awards for Alternate History
The judges for the Sidewise Awards for Alternate History have announced the finalists for the 1997 Sidewise Awards. The awards will be presented at BucConeer, the 56th World Science Fiction Convention, held from August 5 - August 9 in Baltimore, MD.

LONG FORM: (60,000 words or longer or complete series)
Peter Delacorte, Time on My Hands, Dell 1997; Gollancz 1998
Michael Swanwick, Jack Faust, Avon 1997; Millennium 1997
Harry Turtledove, How Few Remain, Del Rey 1997; Hodder & Stoughton 1998

SHORT FORM: (shorter than 60,000 words)
Lee Allred, "For the Strength of the Hills," Writers of the Future XIII, Bridge, 1997
Eugene Byrne & Kim Newman, "Teddy Bear's Picnic," Interzone 122-123, Back in the U.S.S.A., Mark V. Ziesing, 1997
Roland J. Green, "The King of Poland's Foot Cavalry," Alternate Tyrants, edited by Mike Resnick, Tor, 1997
William Sanders, "The Undiscovered," Asimov's 3/97

Robert Sobel, For Want of a Nail, MacMillan, 1973; Greenhill, 1997

Nominations are currently being accepted for the 1998 Sidewise Awards. For more information, the award website is

Previous Winners
The Sidewise Awards, founded in 1995 to recognize excellence in alternate history, are named for Murray Leinster's short story, "Sidewise in Time".

Long Form
Paul J. McAuley, Pasquale's Angel, 1995
Stephen Baxter, Voyage, 1996

Short Form
Stephen Baxter, "Brigantia's Angels," 1995
Walter Jon Williams, "Foreign Devils," 1996

Special Achievement
L. Sprague de Camp, Lifetime Achievement, 1995

Other Award Links
World Fantasy Awards
Hugo Awards
Nebula Awards
The Locus Awards

Award Sites
SF Site Awards Page
The Locus Index to Science Fiction Awards

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide