Reviews Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
A Memory of Light
Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson
Tor, 912 pages

A Memory of Light
Robert Jordan
Robert Jordan (b.1948) was the pseudonym of American writer James Oliver Rigney, Jr., who has also written as Regan O'Neal, Jackson O'Reilly, and Chang Lung. A lifelong resident of Charleston, SC, Robert Jordan was born in 1948. He served two tours of duty in Vietnam (from 1968-70), earning the Distinguished Flying Cross and the Bronze star. Following that, he entered the Citadel, the military college of South Carolina, where he received a degree in physics and went on to be employed by the Navy as a nuclear engineer. While hospitalized with an injury, he thought he could probably write as well as the authors he had been reading during his recovery. He died on September 16, 2007.

ISFDB Bibliography
SF Site Review: The Gathering Storm
SF Site Review: Knife of Dreams
SF Site Review: New Spring
SF Site Review: Crossroads of Twilight
SF Site Review: A Path of Daggers
SF Site Review: A Crown of Swords
SF Site Review: The World of Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time

Brandon Sanderson
Brandon Sanderson was born in 1975 in Lincoln, Nebraska. In 1994, he enrolled at Brigham Young University as a Biochemistry major. From 1995-1997 he took time away from his studies to serve as a missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. Upon his return, he became an English major. It was in 2003, while Brandon was in the middle of a graduate program at BYU, that he got a call from an editor at Tor who wanted to buy one of his books. In December of 2007, Harriet Rigney chose him to complete A Memory of Light, book twelve in Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series.

Brandon Sanderson Website
ISFDB Bibliography
SF Site Review: The Complete Alcatraz
SF Site Review: The Alloy of Law: A Mistborn Novel
SF Site Review: The Way of Kings
SF Site Review: The Way of Kings
SF Site Review: The Gathering Storm
SF Site Review: Warbreaker, Part 1
SF Site Review: Warbreaker
SF Site Review: The Mistborn Trilogy

Past Feature Reviews
A review by Christopher DeFilippis

Robert Jordan's epic fantasy series The Wheel of Time, which has spun out over 23 years, 14 books (not counting a prequel) and two authors, finally winds to a climax in its final volume, A Memory of Light. And if you've been with the series from the beginning, all that reading time and emotional investment begs the question: was it worth it? Do fans get the payoff they deserve?

Unequivocally, yes. A Memory of Light wraps up The Wheel of Time with a grand flourish, and author Brandon Sanderson delivers a dazzling conclusion true to the original spirit and substance of the late Robert Jordan's ambitious fantasy opus -- a task at which Jordan himself failed in later volumes of the series. And because of Sanderson's success, A Memory of Light is burdened by another question. Does it redeem The Wheel of Time series overall?

Let's take it one step at a time.

The Wheel of Time has always been working toward Tarmon Gai'don, the final battle between the forces of Light and the Shadow, and A Memory of Light chronicles this cataclysmic war from start to finish -- with Egwene, Elayne, Aviendha and Lan leading four armies on four different fronts against the forces of the Dark One. Meanwhile, the big three have their hands full elsewhere.

Matt is busy contending with his unlikely status as a Seanchan noble, and trying to bring his newly acquired military might to Rand's cause; Perrin fights in the Wolf Dream against threats manifested in Tel'aran'rhiod; and Rand is fulfilling his ultimate destiny as the Dragon Reborn, directly confronting Shai'tan in his prison at the heart of Shayol Ghul with Nynaeve and Moiraine fighting by his side.

Sprinkle in some Forsaken-driven intrigue, a war between the Asha'man to decide the fate of the Black Tower and a huge array of proactive secondary characters and you get some meaty fantasy action.

These myriad moving parts are necessary to adequately convey such world-encompassing events. But for all that, A Memory of Light remains focused and character driven. Sanderson keeps the narrative thrumming, giving characters big and small important parts to play, and no one seems shoehorned into -- or shortchanged by -- the story.

After about 600 pages, all of this narrative maneuvering culminates in a 200-page chapter fittingly called "The Last Battle." And even after everything that has come before, it is a climax rife with page-turning tension and enough twists to make even the most jaded Wheel of Time fan gasp.

But the real test of A Memory of Light is how well it handles Rand's story. Objectively, Rand gets somewhat less of a storyline compared to the other main characters. But he remains at the heart of the book, and the culmination of his fight with the Shadow is everything Wheel of Time fans might have hoped for.

The only minor nit is that some of the book's final scenes pick up on story threads from much earlier in the seriesólike from books 3 and 4 -- and if you (like me) haven't read those volumes in 15 or so years, the resolution of these dimly-remembered plot points lack the narrative punch they might have had. And while the story has more than enough momentum by this point to carry you along regardless, it still serves as a reminder of how unfocused the series had become before Sanderson set things to rights.

Which brings us back to the larger question: Does A Memory of Light redeem The Wheel of Time series overall?

Sadly, no. While A Memory of Light -- and, indeed Sanderson's entire concluding trilogy -- does an exceedingly fine job of ending The Wheel of Time on a high note, it still can't change the fact that books seven through 10 are just plain terrible, and that book 11 is only marginally better. So unless Tor announces plans to condense and rework these five dismal volumes into two passable ones, I couldn't in good conscience recommend the series to others -- at least not without a huge caveat.

But the Wheel weaves as the Wheel wills, and as a long-time reader who had invested decades in the series and was determined to see it through no matter what, I'd like to express my gratitude to Mr. Sanderson. Thanks to him, whenever I think back on The Wheel of Time, I'll do so with (mostly) memories of light.

Copyright © 2013 by Christopher DeFilippis

Christopher DeFilippis is a serial book buyer, journalist and author. He published the novel Foreknowledge 100 years ago in Berkley's Quantum Leap series. He has high hopes for the next hundred years. In the meantime, his "DeFlip Side" radio segments are featured monthly on "Destinies: The Voice of Science Fiction." Listen up at

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or anything else worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide