Awards Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
1998 Nebula Awards
Nebula Award
Photo by Laura Mixon

The winners (in bold) for this year's Nebula Awards has been released by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA). Winners were announced during the Nebula Awards Weekend, April 30-May 2, 1999, in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania.

Founded in 1965, the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America began with about 80 writers. It now has over 1,000 members. Active members of SFWA vote for the Nebula Awards. The awards are given each year for the best novel, novella, novelette, and short story eligible for that year's award. Each year, an anthology, including the winning pieces of short fiction and several runners-up, is also published. Each spring the awards are given out at the Nebula Awards Banquet over a weekend of meetings and panel discussions.

The Grand Master Award is given to a living author for a lifetime's achievement in science fiction or fantasy or both. Nominations for the Grand Master Nebula Award are made by the president of SFWA and awarded after approval of a majority of the SFWA officers.

Novel (40,000 words or more):
Forever Peace, Joe Haldeman (Ace, Oct97)
The Last Hawk, Catherine Asaro (Tor, Nov97)
Moonfall, Jack McDevitt (HarperPrism, Apr98)
How Few Remain, Harry Turtledove (Del Rey, Oct97)
Death of the Necromancer, Martha Wells (Avon July 98)
To Say Nothing of the Dog, Connie Willis (Bantam Spectra, Jan98)

Novella (17,500-39,999 words):
"Reading the Bones", Sheila Finch (F&SF, Jan98)
"Aurora In Four Voices", Catherine Asaro (Analog, Dec98)
"The Boss In the Wall", Avram Davidson & Grania Davis (Tachyon Publications, Aug98)
"Izzy and the Father of Terror", Eliot Fintushel (Asimov's, Jul97)
"Jumping Off the Planet", David Gerrold (SF Age, Jan98)
"Ecopoiesis", Geoffrey A. Landis (SF Age, May97)

Best Novelette (7,500-17,499 words):
"Lost Girls", Jane Yolen (Realms of Fantasy, Feb98)
"The Truest Chill", Gregory Feeley (SF Age, Nov97)
"Time Gypsy", Ellen Klages (Bending the Landscape: SF, Overlook Press, Oct98)
"The Mercy Gate", Mark J. McGarry (F&SF, Mar98)
"Echea", Kristine Kathryn Rusch (Asimov's, Jul98)
"Lethe", Walter Jon Williams (Asimov's, Sep97)

Short Story (7,499 words or fewer):
"Thirteen Ways to Water", Bruce Holland Rogers (Black Cats and Broken Mirrors, Martin Greenberg and John Helfers, Ed., DAW, Jun98)
"When the Bough Breaks", Steven Brust (The Essential Bordertown, Tor, Sep98)
"Standing Room Only", Karen Joy Fowler (Asimov's, Aug97)
"Fortune and Misfortune", Lisa Goldstein (Asimov's, May97)
"Winter Fire", Geoffrey A. Landis (Asimov's, Aug97)
"Tall One", K.D. Wentworth (F&SF, Apr98)

Grand Master Award Winners
Robert A. Heinlein (1974)
Jack Williamson (1975)
Clifford D. Simak (1976)
L. Sprague de Camp (1978)
Fritz Leiber (1981)
Andre Norton (1983)
Arthur C. Clarke (1985)
Isaac Asimov (1986)
Alfred Bester (1987)
Ray Bradbury (1988)
Lester Del Rey (1990)
Frederik Pohl (1992)
Damon Knight (1994)
A.E. Van Vogt (1995)
Jack Vance (1996)
Poul Anderson (1997)
Hal Clement [aka Harry Clement Stubbs] (1998)

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide