Awards Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
1998 Sidewise Awards for Alternate History
The judges for the Sidewise Awards for Alternate History have announced the finalists for the 1998 Sidewise Awards. The awards will be presented at Aussiecon 3, the 1999 World Science Fiction Convention, which will be held in Melbourne, Australia, from Sept. 2-6, 1999. The Sidewise Awards are named after Murray Leinster's 1934 short story "Sidewise in Time."

LONG FORM: (60,000 words or longer or complete series)
Greg Bear, Dinosaur Summer, Warner 1998; Voyager 1998
Stephen Fry, Making History, Hutchinson 1996; Random House 1998
Pamela Sargent, Climb the Wind, HarperPrism 1998

SHORT FORM: (shorter than 60,000 words)
Stephen Baxter & Arthur C. Clarke, "The Wire Continuum," Playboy, 1/98
Ian R. MacLeod, "The Summer Isles," Asimov's 10-11/98
Robert Silverberg, "Waiting for the End," Asimov's 10-11/98
Howard Waldrop, "US," Event Horizon 10/14/98

Previous Winners
Long Form
Paul J. McAuley, Pasquale's Angel, 1995
Stephen Baxter, Voyage, 1996
Harry Turtledove, How Few Remain, 1997

Short Form
Stephen Baxter, "Brigantia's Angels," 1995
Walter Jon Williams, "Foreign Devils," 1996
William Sanders, "The Undiscovered," 1997

Special Achievement
L. Sprague de Camp, Lifetime Achievement, 1995
Robert Sobel, For Want of a Nail, 1997

Nominations are currently being accepted for the 1999 Sidewise Awards. For more information, the award website is

Other Award Links
World Fantasy Awards
Hugo Awards
Nebula Awards
The Locus Awards

Award Sites
SF Site Awards Page
The Locus Index to Science Fiction Awards

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide