Awards Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
Nebula Awards
Nebula Award
Photo by Laura Mixon

1996 Nebula Award Winners
Novel (40,000 words or more):
Slow River by Nicola Griffith
Novella (17,500-39,999 words):
"Da Vinci Rising" by Jack Dann
Best Novelette (7,500-17,499 words):
"Lifeboat on a Burning Sea" by Bruce Holland Rogers
Short Story (7,499 words or fewer):
"A Birthday" by Esther M. Friesner
Grand Master Award (Lifetime Achievement):
Jack Vance
Founded in 1965, the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America began with about 80 writers. It now has over 1,000 members. Active members of SFFWA vote for the Nebula Awards. The awards are given each year for the best novel, novella, novelette, and short story eligible for that year's award. Each year, an anthology, including the winning pieces of short fiction and several runners-up, is also published. Each spring the awards are given out at the Nebula Awards Banquet over a weekend of meetings and panel discussions.

The Grand Master Award is given to a living author for a lifetime's achievement in science fiction or fantasy or both. Nominations for the Grand Master Nebula Award are made by the president of SFFWA and awarded after approval of a majority of the SFFWA officers.

Grand Master Award Winners
Robert A. Heinlein (1974)
Jack Williamson (1975)
Clifford D. Simak (1976)
L. Sprague de Camp (1978)
Fritz Leiber (1981)
Andre Norton (1983)
Arthur C. Clarke (1985)
Isaac Asimov (1986)
Alfred Bester (1987)
Ray Bradbury (1988)
Lester Del Rey (1990)
Frederik Pohl (1992)
Damon Knight (1994)
A.E. Van Vogt (1995)
Jack Vance (1996)

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide