Awards Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
1999 Nebula Awards
Nebula Award
Photo by Laura Mixon

The final ballot for this year's Nebula Awards has been released by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA). Winners were announced during the Nebula Awards Weekend, May 19 to 21, 2000, in New York. Daniel Keyes was named Author Emeritus and George Zebrowski & Pamela Sargent were given the Service to SFWA Award.

Founded in 1965, the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America began with about 80 writers. It now has over 1,000 members. Active members of SFWA vote for the Nebula Awards. The awards are given each year for the best novel, novella, novelette, and short story eligible for that year's award. The script category was added this year. Each year, an anthology, including the winning pieces of short fiction and several runners-up, is also published. Each spring the awards are given out at the Nebula Awards Banquet over a weekend of meetings and panel discussions.

The Grand Master Award is given to a living author for a lifetime's achievement in science fiction or fantasy or both. Nominations for the Grand Master Nebula Award are made by the president of SFWA and awarded after approval of a majority of the SFWA officers.

Octavia E. Butler: Parable of the Talents (Seven Stories Press; Warner Books)
Ken MacLeod: The Cassini Division (Tor)
George R.R. Martin: A Clash of Kings (Bantam Spectra)
Maureen F. McHugh: Mission Child (Avon Eos; Eos)
Sean Stewart: Mockingbird (Ace)
Vernor Vinge: A Deepness in the Sky (Tor)

Novella (17,500-39,999 words):
Ted Chiang: "Story of Your Life" (Starlight 2, Patrick Nielsen Hayden)
Michael A. Burstein: "Reality Check" (Analog, Nov 99)
Adam-Troy Castro and Jerry Oltion: "The Astronaut From Wyoming" (Analog, Aug 99)
L. Timmel Duchamp: "Living Trust" (Asimov's, Feb 99)
Andy Duncan: "The Executioners' Guild" (Asimov's, Aug 99)
David Marusek: "The Wedding Album" (Asimov's, Jun 99)

Best Novelette (7,500-17,499 words):
Mary A. Turzillo: "Mars is No Place for Children" (SF Age, May 99)
Phyllis Eisenstein: "The Island in the Lake" (F&SF, Dec 98)
Esther M. Friesner: "How to Make Unicorn Pie" (F&SF, Jan 99)
Brian A. Hopkins: "Five Days in April" (Chiaroscuro Webzine, Jul 99)
Jack McDevitt & Stanley Schmidt: "Good Intentions" (F&SF, Jun 98)
Bruce Sterling: "Taklamakan" (Asimov's, Nov 98)

Short Story (7,499 words or fewer):
Leslie What: "The Cost of Doing Business" (Amazing Stories, Feb 99)
Constance Ash: "Flower Kiss" (Realms of Fantasy, Aug 98)
Bruce Holland Rogers: "The Dead Boy at Your Window" (The North American Review, Dec 98)
Frances Sherwood: "Basil the Dog" (Atlantic Monthly, Sep 99)
Michael Swanwick: "Ancient Engines" (Asimov's, Feb 99)
Michael Swanwick: "Radiant Doors" (Asimov's, Sep 98)

M. Night Shyamalan: The Sixth Sense (Buena Vista)
Robert J. Avrech: The Devil's Arithmetic (Showtime Television; based on the novel The Devil's Arithmetic by Jane Yolen)
Brad Bird & Tim McCanlies: Iron Giant (Warner Brothers Studios)
John Millerman: The Uranus Experiment: Part 2 (Private Black Label)
Larry & Andy Wachowski: The Matrix (Warner Brothers)

Grand Master Award Winners
Robert A. Heinlein (1974)
Jack Williamson (1975)
Clifford D. Simak (1976)
L. Sprague de Camp (1978)
Fritz Leiber (1981)
Andre Norton (1983)
Arthur C. Clarke (1985)
Isaac Asimov (1986)
Alfred Bester (1987)
Ray Bradbury (1988)
Lester Del Rey (1990)
Frederik Pohl (1992)
Damon Knight (1994)
A.E. Van Vogt (1995)
Jack Vance (1996)
Poul Anderson (1997)
Hal Clement (1998)
Brian Aldiss(2000)

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide