Awards Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
Finalists for the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for the Best Short SF of the Year

Alan Brennert "Echoes" (F&SF, 5/97)
Michael F. Flynn "House of Dreams" (Asimov's, 10-11/97)
James Patrick Kelly "Itsy Bitsy Spider" (Asimov's, 6/97)
Mary Soon Lee "Universal Grammar" (F&SF, 4/97)
Paul Levinson "Loose Ends" (Analog, 5/97)
Paul Park "Get a Grip" (Omni On-Line, 2/97)
Mike Resnick "The 43 Antarean Dynasties" (Asimov's, 12/97)
William Sanders "The Undiscovered" (Asimov's, 3/97)
James Sarafin & Mary Rosenblum "One Good Juror" (Asimov's, 2/97)
Brian Stableford "Coming to Grips With the Great Plague" (Omni On-Line,12/97)
Allen Steele "Where Angels Fear to Tread" (Asimov's, 10-11/97)
Walter Jon Williams "Lethe" (Asimov's, 9/97)

Judging Committee
James Gunn
Kij Johnson
Frederik Pohl
The finalists for the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for the Best Short SF of the Year are selected from a large number of nominations by a group of writers, editors, and reviewers organized by Christopher McKitterick and David Truesdale. This year Sturgeon's son Robin helped choose the top twelve. The winner and two runners-up will be chosen from the finalist list by a committee.

The award will be presented at a dinner held at the University of Kansas on July 10, 1998 along with the John W. Campbell Memorial Award for the Best SF Novel of the Year and four inductions into the Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame inductions are presented by the Kansas City Science Fiction and Fantasy Society in association with the Center. The Award dinner will be followed by the two-day Campbell Conference, which this year will discuss the science-fiction novel.

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide