Awards Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
1997 Sidewise Awards for Alternate History
The winners (in bold along with the other nominees) of the Sidewise Award for Alternate History were announced on Friday, August 7 at BucConeer. The ceremony was attended by Murray Leinster's granddaughter, Beth Richardson, who said a few words about Murray Leinster. The Sidewise Awards are named after Leinster's 1934 short story "Sidewise in Time."

LONG FORM: (60,000 words or longer or complete series)
Harry Turtledove, How Few Remain, Del Rey 1997; Hodder & Stoughton 1998
Peter Delacorte, Time on My Hands, Dell 1997; Gollancz 1998
Michael Swanwick, Jack Faust, Avon 1997; Millennium 1997

SHORT FORM: (shorter than 60,000 words)
William Sanders, "The Undiscovered," Asimov's 3/97
Lee Allred, "For the Strength of the Hills," Writers of the Future XIII, Bridge, 1997
Eugene Byrne & Kim Newman, "Teddy Bear's Picnic," Interzone 122-123, Back in the U.S.S.A., Mark V. Ziesing, 1997
Roland J. Green, "The King of Poland's Foot Cavalry," Alternate Tyrants, edited by Mike Resnick, Tor, 1997

Robert Sobel, For Want of a Nail, MacMillan, 1973; Greenhill, 1997

Previous Winners
Long Form
Paul J. McAuley, Pasquale's Angel, 1995
Stephen Baxter, Voyage, 1996

Short Form
Stephen Baxter, "Brigantia's Angels," 1995
Walter Jon Williams, "Foreign Devils," 1996

Special Achievement
L. Sprague de Camp, Lifetime Achievement, 1995

Nominations are currently being accepted for the 1998 Sidewise Awards. For more information, the award website is

Other Award Links
World Fantasy Awards
Hugo Awards
Nebula Awards
The Locus Awards

Award Sites
SF Site Awards Page
The Locus Index to Science Fiction Awards

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide