Awards Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
2002 World Fantasy Award Nominees
The nine awards are presented at the banquet of the World Fantasy Convention held each year around the end of October. Two of the nominees on the final ballot are determined by readers while the remainder come from the ballots put together by a panel of judges who change annually. The judges select the recipients in a second round of voting. The awards are based on work done during the previous calendar year.

Listed here are the nominations for all categories but that for Lifetime Achievement. The nominees for that award are not released in advance.

The Awards will be announced at the World Fantasy Convention awards banquet to be held in Washington, DC on November 2, 2003.

The five judges are:
Justin Ackroyd
Les Edwards
Laura Anne Gilman
Lawrence Watt-Evans
Jane Yolen

The Portrait of Mrs. Charbuque Jeffrey Ford (Morrow)
Fitcher's Brides Gregory Frost (Tor)
The Facts of Life Graham Joyce (Gollancz)
Ombria in Shadow Patricia A. McKillip (Ace)
The Scar China Miéville (Macmillan U.K.; Del Rey)

Seven Wild Sisters Charles de Lint (Subterranean Press)
A Year in the Linear City Paul Di Filippo (PS Publishing)
Coraline Neil Gaiman (HarperCollins)
"The Least Trumps" Elizabeth Hand (Conjunctions 39: The New Wave Fabulists)
"The Library" Zoran Zivkovic (Leviathan 3)

Short Fiction
"Creation" Jeffrey Ford (F&SF 5/02)
"The Weight of Words" Jeffrey Ford (Leviathan 3)
"October in the Chair" Neil Gaiman (Conjunctions 39: The New Wave Fabulists)
"Little Dead Girl Singing" Stephen Gallagher (Weird Tales Spring 2002)
"The Essayist in the Wilderness" William Browning Spencer (F&SF 5/02)

The Green Man: Tales from the Mythic Forest Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, Editors (Viking)
Year's Best Fantasy and Horror: Fifteenth Annual Collection Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, Editors (St. Martin's)
Conjunctions 39: The New Wave Fabulists Peter Straub, Editor (Bard College)
The American Fantasy Tradition Brian M. Thomsen, Editor (Tor)
Leviathan 3 Jeff VanderMeer & Forrest Aguirre, Editors (Ministry of Whimsy Press)

Waifs and Strays Charles de Lint (Viking)
The Fantasy Writer's Assistant and Other Stories Jeffrey Ford (Golden Gryphon Press)
Water: Tales of Elemental Spirits Robin McKinley & Peter Dickinson (Putnam)
The Ogre's Wife Richard Parks (Obscura Press)
City of Saints and Madmen Jeff VanderMeer (Prime Books)
Figures in Rain Chet Williamson (Ash-Tree Press)

Kinuko Y. Craft
Tom Kidd
Gary Lippincott
Dave McKean
John Jude Palencar
Charles Vess

Special Award Professional
Paul Barnett for Paper Tiger art books
Ellen Datlow for editing
William Schafer for Subterranean Press
Gary Turner & Marty Halpern for Golden Gryphon Press
Gordon Van Gelder for The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction
Terri Windling for editing

Special Award Non-Professional
Peter Crowther for PS Publishing
Gavin Grant and Kelly Link for Small Beer Press
Sean Wallace for Prime Books
Michael Walsh for Old Earth Books
Jason Williams, Jeremy Lassen, Benjamin Cossel for Night Shade Books

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide