Awards Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
1997 World Fantasy Award Nominees
The nine awards are presented at the banquet of the World Fantasy Convention held each year around the end of October. Two of the nominees on the final ballot are determined by readers while the remainder come from the ballots put together by a panel of judges who change annually. The judges select the recipients in a second round of voting. The awards are based on work done during the previous calendar year.

Listed here are the nominations for all categories but that for Lifetime Achievement. The nominees for that award are not released in advance.

The Awards will be announced at the World Fantasy Convention awards banquet to be held in Monterey, California, on Sunday, November 1, 1998.

The five judges are:
Peter Crowther
L.E. Modesitt, Jr.
Peter Schneider
Dave Truesdale
Janeen Webb

Trader by Charles de Lint (Tor)
The Physiognomy by Jeffrey Ford (Avon)
American Goliath by Harvey Jacobs (St. Martin's)
The Gift by Patrick O'Leary (Tor)
The Club Dumas Arturo Perez-Reverte (First published in Spanish 1993. First English translation 1996 by Sonia Soto. First English printing 1997, Harcourt Brace)

"Streetcar Dreams" by Richard Bowes (F&SF, 4/97)
"The Dripping of Sundered Wineskins" by Brian Hodge (Love In Vein II, HarperPrism)
"The Fall of the Kings" by Ellen Kushner & Delia Sherman (Bending the Landscape: Fantasy, White Wolf/Borealis)
"Coppola's Dracula" by Kim Newman (The Mammoth Book of Dracula, Robinson Raven, UK)
"The Zombies of Madison County" by Douglas E. Winter (Dark Of The Night, Pumpkin Books, UK)

Short Fiction
"Dust Motes" by P.D. Cacek (Gothic Ghosts, Tor)
"Fortune and Misfortune" by Lisa Goldstein (Asimov's 5/97)
"Get a Grip" by Paul Park (OMNI On-Line, 3/97)
"The Inner Inner City" by Robert Charles Wilson (Northern Frights 4, Mosaic Press)
"Audience" by Jack Womack (Horns of Elfland, Roc)

Modern Classics of Fantasy, Ed. Gardner Dozois (St. Martin's)
Bending the Landscape: Fantasy, Ed. Nicola Griffith & Stephen Pagel (White Wolf/Borealis)
Northern Frights 4, Ed. Don Hutchison (Mosaic Press)
Dark Terrors 3, Ed. Stephen Jones & David Sutton (Gollancz)
Millennium also as Revelations, Ed. Douglas E. Winter (Voyager; Harperprism)

Giant Bones by Peter S. Beagle (Roc)
Driving Blind by Ray Bradbury (Avon)
Fractal Paisleys by Paul Di Filippo (Four Walls Eight Windows)
The Throne of Bones by Brian McNaughton (Terminal Fright)
A Geography of Unkown Lands by Michael Swanwick (Tigereyes Press)

Rick Berry
Jim Burns
Alan Lee
Don Maitz
Dave McKean

Special Award - Professional
Ellen Datlow For Editing & Anthologies
Gardner Dozois For Editing & Anthologies
The Encyclopedia Of Fantasy, Ed. Clute and Grant (Orbit, St. Martin's)
Stephen Jones For Editing & Anthologies
Gordon Van Gelder For Editing Books (St. Martin's) & for Editing F&SF

Special Award - Non-Professional
Richard Chizmar For Cemetery Dance Magazine and CD Publications
Fedogan & Bremer For book publishing
Chris Logan Edwards For Tigereyes Press
Barry Hoffman For Gauntlet Magazine and Gauntlet book publishing
Jeff Vandermeer For Ministry of Whimsy Press

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide