Awards Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
The British Fantasy Awards
The British Fantasy Society via the British Fantasy Newsletter and its sister journal, Dark Horizons, have served as a bastion for fantasy and horror fandom in the UK. In 1975, the BFS held its first convention, Fantasycon, and before that started the British Fantasy Award, a suggestion from president Ramsey Campbell. The society continues to publish a remarkable series of publications including numbered chapbooks by William Hope Hodgson, Michael Moorcock, Ramsey Campbell, Peter Tremayne, August Derleth and M.R. James. Magzines include Winter Chills, now named Chills, and Mystique, Tales Of Wonder. Both these magazines are independent publications but linked to the BFS. Paperback titles include Clive Barker, Mythmaker for The Millennium written by Suzanne J. Barbieri and Annabel Says, a modern ghost story by Simon Clark and Stephen Laws.

Annual membership to the British Fantasy Society is 17.00 (UK), 20.00 (Europe), $35.00 (USA) and 25.00 (elsewhere) to

The BFS Secretary,
c/o 2 Harwood Street,
Stockport SK4 1JJ, UK

Listed here are the nominations (with the winners in bold) for all categories. The British Fantasy Special Award (The Karl Edward Wagner Award) was given to Anne McCaffrey. The Awards were announced at Fantasycon in Birmingham, England on September 10, 2000.

Best Novel (The August Derleth Fantasy Award)
Indigo -- Graham Joyce (Michael Joseph)
The Amber Citadel -- Freda Warrington (Earthlight)
The Marriage of Sticks -- Jonathon Carroll (Gollancz)
Shelter -- Chaz Brenchley (Hodder & Stoughton)
World's End -- Mark Chadbourn (Gollancz)

Best Short Fiction
"White" -- Tim Lebbon (MOT Press)
"The Entertainment" -- Ramsey Campbell (999)
"The Hand That Feeds" -- Peter Crowther & James Lovegrove (Enigmatic Variations)
"Leningrad Nights" -- Graham Joyce (PS Publishing)
"Where the Town Goes at Night" -- Tanith Lee (Interzone #147)

Best Artist
Les Edwards
Lisa Busby
Gerald Gaubert
Josh Kirby
Iain Maynard

Best Anthology
The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror 10 -- ed. Stephen Jones (Robinson)
999 -- ed. Al Sarrantonio (Avon)
The Last Continent -- ed. John Pelan (Shadowlands Press)
White of the Moon -- ed. Stephen Jones (Pumpkin)
Year's Best Fantasy & Horror -- ed. Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling (St Martin's Press)

Best Collection
Lonesome Roads -- Peter Crowther (Razorblade Press)
The Collected Strange Tales -- Robert Aikman (Tartarus/Durtro)
Hearts in Atlantis -- Stephen King (Hodder & Stoughton)
Moonlight & Vines -- Charles de Lint (TOR)
What You Make It -- Michael Marshall Smith (Harper Collins)

Best Small Press
Razorblade Press
Enigmatic Press
The 3rd Alternative

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide