Awards Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
2000 Sidewise Awards for Alternate History
The judges for the Sidewise Awards for Alternate History have announced the winners (in bold along with the other nominees) for the 2000 Sidewise Awards. The awards were be presented at Chicon, the 58th World Science Fiction Convention, held from August 31 - September 4, 2000. The Sidewise Awards are named after Murray Leinster's 1934 short story "Sidewise in Time."

LONG FORM: (60,000 words or longer or complete series)
Brendan DuBois, Resurrection Day, Putnam 1999

SHORT FORM: (shorter than 60,000 words)
Alain Bergeron, "The Eighth Register," Northern Suns, edited by David G. Hartwell and Glenn Grant, Tor, 1999. Translated by Howard Scott. Originally published as "La Huitième register," Solaris #107, Autumn 1993
Jan Lars Jensen, "Secret History of the Ornithopter," F&SF 6/99
Robert Silverberg, "Getting to Know the Dragon," Far Horisons, edited by Robert Silverberg, Avon, 1999
Robert Silverberg, "A Hero of the Empire," F&SF 10-11/99

Special Achievement
Randall Garrett, Lifetime Achievement for such works as Lord Darcy Investigates, Murder and Magic, Too Many Magicians

Previous Winners
Long Form
Stephen Fry, Making History, 1998
Harry Turtledove, How Few Remain, 1997
Stephen Baxter, Voyage, 1996
Paul J. McAuley, Pasquale's Angel, 1995

Short Form
Ian R. MacLeod, "The Summer Isles," 1998
William Sanders, "The Undiscovered," 1997
Walter Jon Williams, "Foreign Devils," 1996
Stephen Baxter, "Brigantia's Angels," 1995

Special Achievement
L. Sprague de Camp, Lifetime Achievement, 1995
Robert Sobel, For Want of a Nail, 1997

Other Award Links
World Fantasy Awards
Hugo Awards
Nebula Awards
The Locus Awards

Award Sites
SF Site Awards Page
The Locus Index to Science Fiction Awards

Nominations are currently being accepted for the 2001 Sidewise Awards. For more information, the award website is

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide