Awards Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
The British Fantasy Awards
The British Fantasy Society via the British Fantasy Newsletter and its sister journal, Dark Horizons, have served as a bastion for fantasy and horror fandom in the UK. In 1975, the BFS held its first convention, Fantasycon, and before that started the British Fantasy Award, a suggestion from president Ramsey Campbell. The society continues to publish a remarkable series of publications including numbered chapbooks by William Hope Hodgson, Michael Moorcock, Ramsey Campbell, Peter Tremayne, August Derleth and M.R. James. Magzines include Winter Chills, now named Chills, and Mystique, Tales Of Wonder. Both these magazines are independent publications but linked to the BFS. Paperback titles include Clive Barker, Mythmaker for The Millennium written by Suzanne J. Barbieri and Annabel Says, a modern ghost story by Simon Clark and Stephen Laws.

Annual membership to the British Fantasy Society is 17.00 (UK), 20.00 (Europe), $35.00 (USA) and 25.00 (elsewhere) to

The BFS Secretary,
c/o 2 Harwood Street,
Stockport SK4 1JJ, UK

Listed here are the nominations for all categories. There was no Special Award (the Karl Edward Wagner Award). The Awards were announced on Saturday 21 September 2002 at Fantasycon 2002, held at Champagne Charlie's, 17 The Arches, Villiers Street, London.

Best Novel (The August Derleth Fantasy Award)

Simon Clark, The Night of the Triffids (Hodder & Stoughton)
Mark Chadbourn, Always Forever (Gollancz)
Neil Gaiman, American Gods (Headline Feature)
Gwyneth Jones, Bold As Love (Gollancz)
Graham Joyce, Smoking Poppy (Gollancz)

Best Short Fiction

Simon Clark, "Goblin City Lights" (Urban Gothic: Lacuna and Other Trips)
Graham Joyce, "Black Dust" (Black Dust)
Steve Lockley & Paul Lewis, "Telling the Tale" (Urban Gothic: Lacuna and Other Trips)
Alastair Reynolds, Diamond Dogs (PS Publishing)
Conrad Williams, Nearly People (PS Publishing)

Best Artist

Jim Burns
Poppy Alexander
Simon Duric
Les Edwards
Edward Miller

Best Anthology

Stephen Jones, ed., The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror: Volume Twelve (Robinson)
Peter Crowther, ed., Futures (Gollancz)
Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, eds., The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror: Fourteenth Annual Collection (St Martin's Griffin)
Stephen Jones, ed., The Mammoth Book of Vampire Stories by Women (Robinson)
David Sutton, ed., Phantoms of Venice (Shadow Publishing)

Best Collection

Paul Finch, Aftershocks (Ash Tree Press)
Robert E. Howard, The Conan Chronicles Volume 2: The Hour of the Dragon (Gollancz)
Tim Lebbon, As the Sun Goes Down (Night Shade Books)
Michael Moorcock, London Bone (Scribners)
Peter Straub, Magic Terror (HarperCollins)

Best Small Press

PS Publishing
The Alien Online (ed. Ariel)
Dark Horizons (ed. Debbie Bennett)
Telos Publishing
The 3rd Alternative (ed. Andy Cox)

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide