Awards Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
2001 World Fantasy Awards
The nine awards are presented at the banquet of the World Fantasy Convention held each year around the end of October. Two of the nominees on the final ballot are determined by readers while the remainder come from the ballots put together by a panel of judges who change annually. The judges select the recipients in a second round of voting. The awards are based on work done during the previous calendar year.

Listed here are the nominations for all categories but that for Lifetime Achievement. The nominees for that award are not released in advance.

World Fantasy Award The Awards were announced at the World Fantasy Convention awards banquet held in Minneapolis, Minnesota on November 3, 2002.

The five judges are:
Peter Atkins
Meg Davis
Michelle Sagara West
Jason Van Hollander
F. Paul Wilson

Lifetime Achievement
Forrest J. Ackerman
George Scithers

The Other Wind, Ursula K. Le Guin (Harcourt)
From the Dust Returned, Ray Bradbury (Morrow)
The Curse of Chalion, Lois McMaster Bujold (Eos)
The Wooden Sea, Jonathan Carroll (Tor)
The Onion Girl, Charles de Lint (Tor)
American Gods, Neil Gaiman (Morrow)
Brown Harvest, Jay Russell (Four Walls Eight Windows)

"The Bird Catcher", S.P. Somtow (The Museum of Horrors, Dennis Etchison, ed., Leisure)
"Karuna, Inc.", Paul Di Filippo (Strange Trades, Golden Gryphon)
"Cleopatra Brimstone", Elizabeth Hand (Redshift, Al Sarrantonio, ed., Roc)
"Struwwelpeter", Glen Hirshberg (Sci Fiction, 11/28/01)
"The Finder", Ursula K. Le Guin (Tales from Earthsea, Harcourt)
"Eternity and Afterward", Lucius Shepard (F&SF, 3/01)

Short Fiction
"Queen for a Day", Albert E. Cowdrey (F&SF, 10-11/01)
"His Own Back Yard", James P. Blaylock (Sci Fiction, 7/11/01)
"The Honeyed Knot", Jeffrey Ford (F&SF, 5/01)
"Something to Hitch Meat To", Nalo Hopkinson (Skin Folk, Warner Aspect)
"Legerdemain", Jack O'Connell (F&SF, 10-11/01)

The Museum of Horrors, Dennis Etchison, ed. (Leisure)
The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror: Fourteenth Annual Collection, Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, eds. (St. Martin's)
The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror: Volume Twelve, Stephen Jones, ed. (Robinson; Carroll & Graf)
The Mammoth Book of Vampire Stories Written by Women, Stephen Jones, ed. (Robinson; Carroll & Graf)
Stigmata, Jerad Walters, ed. (Cocytus Press)

Skin Folk, Nalo Hopkinson (Warner Aspect)
The Essential Ellison: A 50-Year Retrospective: Revised and Expanded, Harlan Ellison; Terry Dowling with Richard Delap & Gil Lamont, eds. (Morpheus)
Talking in the Dark, Dennis Etchison (Stealth Press)
Stranger Things Happen, Kelly Link (Small Beer Press)
Dark Universe: Stories 1951 - 2001, William F. Nolan (Stealth Press)

Allen Koszowski
Donato Giancola
John Jude Palencar
Douglas Walters
Gahan Wilson

Special Award Professional
Jo Fletcher for editing the Fantasy Masterworks series (Gollancz)
Stephen Jones for editing
Randy Broecker for Fantasy of the 20th Century: An Illustrated History, (Collectors Press)
Ellen Datlow for editing
Douglas E. Winter for Clive Barker: The Dark Fantastic, (HarperCollins)

Special Award Non-Professional
Raymond Russell & Rosalie Parker -- for Tartarus Press
Peter Crowther -- for PS Publishing
Michael Waltz et al. -- Sidecar Preservation Society
Paula Guran -- for Horror Garage
Jerad Walters -- for Cocytus Press

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide