Awards Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
2003 World Fantasy Award
The nine awards are presented at the banquet of the World Fantasy Convention held each year around the end of October. Two of the nominees on the final ballot are determined by readers while the remainder come from the ballots put together by a panel of judges who change annually. The judges select the recipients in a second round of voting. The awards are based on work done during the previous calendar year.

Listed here are the nominations for all categories but that for Lifetime Achievement. The nominees for that award are not released in advance.

World Fantasy Award The Awards were announced at the World Fantasy Cvonvention awards banquet held in Tempe, Arizona on October 31, 2004.

The five judges are:
John Clute
Sherwood Smith
Michael Stackpole
Alain Nevant
Scott Wyatt

Lifetime Achievement
Stephen King
Gahan Wilson

Tooth and Claw, Jo Walton (Tor)
The Etched City, K. J. Bishop (Prime Books)
Fudoki, Kij Johnson (Tor)
The Light Ages, Ian R. MacLeod (Ace)
Veniss Underground, Jeff VanderMeer (Prime Books)

"A Crowd of Bone", Greer Gilman (Trampoline: An Anthology Small Beer Press)
"Dancing Men", Glen Hirshberg (The Dark Tor)
"The Empire of Ice Cream", Jeffrey Ford (Sci Fiction 02.26.03)
Exorcising Angels, Simon Clark & Tim Lebbon (Prime Books)
"The Hortlak", Kelly Link (The Dark Tor)

Short Fiction
"Don Ysidro", Bruce Holland Rogers (Polyphony 3 Wheatland)
"Ancestor Money", Maureen F. McHugh (Sci Fiction 10.01.03)
Circle of Cats, Charles de Lint (Viking)
"Gus Dreams of Biting the Mailman", Alex Irvine (Trampoline Small Beer Press)
"O One", Chris Roberson (Live Without a Net Roc)

Strange Tales, Rosalie Parker, ed. (Tartarus Press)
Gathering the Bones, Jack Dann, Ramsey Campbell & Dennis Etchison, eds. (Voyager Australia; Voyager UK; Tor US)
The Thackery T. Lambshead Pocket Guide to Eccentric & Discredited Diseases, Jeff VanderMeer & Mark Roberts, eds. (Night Shade Books)
The Dark: New Ghost Stories, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Tor)
Trampoline: An Anthology, Kelly Link, ed. (Small Beer Press)

Bibliomancy, Elizabeth Hand (PS Publishing)
Ghosts of Yesterday, Jack Cady (Night Shade Books)
GRRM: A Rretrospective, George R.R. Martin (Subterranean Press)
More Tomorrows & Other Stories, Michael Marshall Smith (Earthling Publications)
The Two Sams, Glen Hirshberg (Carroll & Graf)

Donato Giancola
Jason Van Hollander
John Jude Palencar
John Picacio

Special Award Professional
Peter Crowther (for PS Publishing)
John Howe & Alan Lee (for artwork in The Lord of the Rings)
Kelly Link & Gavin Grant (for Small Beer Press)
Sharyn November (for Firebird Books)
David Pringle (for Interzone/service to the field)
Sean Wallace (for Prime Books)

Special Award Non-Professional
Ray Russell & Rosalie Parker (for Tartarus Press)
Deborah Layne & Jay Lake (for Wheatland Press)
Paul Miller (for Earthling Publications)
Dave Truesdale (for Tangent Online)
Rodger Turner, Neil Walsh & Wayne MacLaurin (for SF

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide