Awards Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
2000 World Fantasy Award Nominees
The nine awards are presented at the banquet of the World Fantasy Convention held each year around the end of October. Two of the nominees on the final ballot are determined by readers while the remainder come from the ballots put together by a panel of judges who change annually. The judges select the recipients in a second round of voting. The awards are based on work done during the previous calendar year.

Listed here are the nominations (with the winners in italics at the top of each list) for all categories but that for Lifetime Achievement. The nominees for that award are not released in advance.

World Fantasy Award The Awards were announced at the World Fantasy Convention awards banquet held in Montreal, Quebec on November 4, 2001.

The five judges are:
Steven Erikson
Paula Guran
Diana Wynne Jones
Graham Joyce
Jonathan Strahan

Lifetime Achievement
Frank Frazetta
Philip José Farmer
Declare, Tim Powers (Subterranean Press; Morrow 2001)
Galveston, Sean Stewart (Ace Books)
The Grand Ellipse, Paula Volsky (Bantam Spectra)
His Dark Materials 3: The Amber Spyglass, Philip Pullman (Knopf; Scholastic UK)
Lord of Emperors, Guy Gavriel Kay (Viking Canada; HarperPrism; Earthlight)
Perdido Street Station, China Miéville (Macmillan; Del Rey 2001)

The Man on the Ceiling, Steve Rasnic Tem & Melanie Tem (American Fantasy)
"Blue Kansas Sky", Michael Bishop (Blue Kansas Sky)
"Chip Crockett's Christmas Carol", Elizabeth Hand (Sci Fiction, serialized 12.06.00 - 12.27.00)
"Mr Dark's Carnival", Glen Hirshberg (Shadows and Silence)
"Mr. Simonelli or the Fairy Widower", Susanna Clarke (Black Heart, Ivory Bones)
"Pelican Cay", David Case (Dark Terrors 5)
"Seventy-Two Letters", Ted Chiang (Vanishing Acts)

Short Fiction
"The Pottawatomie Giant", Andy Duncan (Sci Fiction, 11.01.00)
"Down Here in the Garden", Tia V. Travis (Horror Garage #1, May 2000)
"Is There Anybody There?", Kim Newman (The New English Library Book of Internet Stories)
"Lincoln in Frogmore", Andy Duncan (Beluthahatchie and Other Stories)
"The Raggle Taggle Gypsy-O", Michael Swanwick (Tales of Old Earth)
"The Saltimbanques", Terry Dowling (Blackwater Days, Eidolon 29/30)
"Shoe and Marriage", Kelly Link (4 Stories)

Dark Matter: A Century of Speculative Fiction from the African Diaspora, Sheree R. Thomas, ed. (Warner Aspect)
Dark Terrors 5: The Gollancz Book of Horror, Stephen Jones & David Sutton, eds. (Gollancz)
Shadows and Silence, Barbara Roden & Christopher Roden, eds. (Ash-Tree Press)
Vanishing Acts, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Tor)
Whispers From the Cotton Tree Root: Caribbean Fabulist Fiction, Nalo Hopkinson, ed. (Invisible Cities Press)
The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror: Thirteenth Annual Collection, Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, eds. (St. Martin's)

Beluthahatchie and Other Stories, Andy Duncan (Golden Gryphon)
Blackwater Days, Terry Dowling (Eidolon Books)
Magic Terror: Seven Tales, Peter Straub (Random House)
Perpetuity Blues and Other Stories, Neal Barrett Jr (Golden Gryphon)
The Perseids and Other Stories, Robert Charles Wilson (Tor)
Travel Arrangements: Short Stories, M. John Harrison (Gollancz)

Shaun Tan
Jim Burns
Kinuko Y. Craft
Les Edwards
Daniel Merriam
John Jude Palencar

Special Award Professional
Tom Shippey (for J.R.R. Tolkien: Author of the Century (HarperCollins UK; Houghton Mifflin 2001))
Ellen Datlow (for editing Sci Fiction and anthologies)
Cathy Fenner & Arnie Fenner (for Spectrum 7: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art)
William Schaeffer (for Subterranean Press)
Gary Turner & Marty Halpern (for Golden Gryphon Press)

Special Award Non-Professional
Bill Sheehan (for At The Foot Of The Story Tree: An Inquiry into the Fiction of Peter Straub (Subterranean Press))
Benjamin Cossel, Jeremy Lassen & Jason Williams (for Nightshade Press)
Peter Crowther (for PS Publishing)
Philip J. Rahman & Dennis E. Weiler (for Fedogan & Bremer)
Barbara Roden & Christopher Roden (for Ash-Tree Press)
Raymond Russell & Rosalie Parker (for Tartarus Press)

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide