Buy F&SF • Read F&SF • Contact F&SF • Advertise In F&SF • Blog • Forum • RSS

Finisterra Wins Sturgeon Award

Congrats to David Moles, whose story from F&SF, "Finisterra" (Dec. 2007), has won the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award, which is given annually to the best science fiction short story, novelette or novella of the year. It was presented this weekend at the 2008 Campbell Conference in Lawrence, Kansas. (Note: "Finisterra" actually tied with "Tidelines" by Elizabeth Bear, so technically both won.)  Other F&SF stories tied for second place: between "Memorare" by Gene Wolfe (Apr. 2007) and "The Master Miller’s Tale" by Ian R. MacLeod (May 2007).


One Response to “Finisterra Wins Sturgeon Award”

  1. Theodore Sturgeon award - Forbidden Planet Blog on September 9th, 2013

    […] Fantasy & Science Fiction reports that this year’s Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award was a tie, with David Moles’ short story Finisterra, which was published in F&SF in December of last year, winning jointly with Elizabeth Bear’s Tidelines. Second place was again a tie with Gene Wolfe’s Memorare and Ian R MacLeod’s The Master Miller’s Tale sharing the win. The award, given for the best short science fiction story, novella or novelette, was announced at the 2008 Campbell Conference. […]

Leave a Reply

If this is your first time leaving a comment, your comment may enter the moderation queue. If it doesn't appear right away, don't panic; it should show up once site administrators verify you're not a spambot. After you successfully post a comment, future comments will no longer be moderated.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Copyright © 2006–2018 The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction • All Rights Reserved Worldwide
Powered by WordPress • Theme based on Whitespace theme by Brian Gardner
If you find any errors, typos or anything else worth mentioning, please send it to

Designed by Rodger Turner and Hosted by:
SF Site spot art