Buy F&SF • Read F&SF • Contact F&SF • Advertise In F&SF • Blog • Forum • RSS

Finisterra Wins Sturgeon Award

Congrats to David Moles, whose story from F&SF, "Finisterra" (Dec. 2007), has won the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award, which is given annually to the best science fiction short story, novelette or novella of the year. It was presented this weekend at the 2008 Campbell Conference in Lawrence, Kansas. (Note: "Finisterra" actually tied with "Tidelines" by Elizabeth Bear, so technically both won.)  Other F&SF stories tied for second place: between "Memorare" by Gene Wolfe (Apr. 2007) and "The Master Miller’s Tale" by Ian R. MacLeod (May 2007).

International Horror Guild Award finalists

F&SF has been named a finalist for the International Horror Guild Awards in the best periodical category. Congratulations to us!

Congratulations too, to our authors who are also on the ballot.

  • Laird Barron, for his short story collection The Imago Sequence 
  • "The Bone Man" by Fredric S. Durbin (December 2007)
  • "The Great White Bed" by Don Webb (May 2007)

F&SF Wins Locus Award for Best Magazine

As the headline states, F&SF has won this year’s Locus Award for Best Magazine. That makes it seven years in a row we’ve taken home the honor. Many thanks to everyone who voted for us!

A complete list of the winners can be found here. If you’re curious about the history of the award, you can poke around through lists of the past winners here. Congratulations to all of the other winners!

Nebula Award Winners

Congrats to Ted Chiang, whose F&SF story "The Merchant and the Alchemist’s Gate" has won the Nebula Award for best novelette! Kudos, Ted–well deserved! If you haven’t read it yet, it’s still available on our website (and is still currently a finalist for the Hugo Award).

Here’s the full list of winners:

Novel: The Yiddish Policemen’s Union by Michael Chabon

Novella: "Fountain of Age" by Nancy Kress

Novelette: "The Merchant and the Alchemist’s Gate" by Ted Chiang

Short Story: "Always" by Karen Joy Fowler

Script: Pan’s Labyrinth by Guillermo del Toro

Andre Norton Award: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

Author Emeritus: Ardath Mayhar

Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award: Michael Moorcock

2008 Locus Award Finalists

The 2008 Locus Award finalists have been announced, and we’d like to congratulate Gene Wolfe and Ted Chiang, whose stories from F&SF “Memorare” and “The Merchant and the Alchemist’s Gate” are both on the shortlist. EDIT: Congrats to Lucius Shepard too, who is also on the ballot.

We’d also like to congratulate Gordon for being nominated in the best editor category and…ourselves, for being nominated in the best magazine category. Thanks to everyone who voted!

« Previous PageNext Page »

Copyright © 2006–2016 The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction • All Rights Reserved Worldwide
Powered by WordPress • Theme based on Whitespace theme by Brian Gardner
If you find any errors, typos or anything else worth mentioning, please send it to

Designed by Rodger Turner and Hosted by:
SF Site spot art