Shirley Jackson Award Ballot

The ballot for the Shirley Jackson Award has been released. The award, which recognizes excellence in psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic in literature, will be presented on July 12 at Readercon in Burlington, MA.


  • Alive in Necropolis, Doug Dorst
  • The Man on the Ceiling, Steve Rasnic Tem and Melanie Tem
  • Pandemonium, Daryl Gregory
  • The Resurrectionist, Jack O’Connell
  • The Shadow Year, Jeffrey Ford
  • Tender Morsels, Margo Lanagan


  • Disquiet, Julia Leigh
  • “Dormitory,” Yoko Ogawa
  • Living With the Dead, Darrell Schweitzer
  • The Long Trial of Nolan Dugatti, Stephen Graham Jones
  • “N,”, Stephen King


  • “Hunger Moon,” Deborah Noyes
  • “The Lagerstatte,” Laird Barron
  • “Penguins of the Apocalypse,” William Browning Spencer
  • “Pride and Prometheus,” John Kessel
  • The Situation, Jeff Vandermeer

Short Story

  • “68° 07’ 15″N, 31° 36’ 44″W,” Conrad Williams
  • “The Dinner Party,” Joshua Ferris
  • “Evidence of Love in a Case of Abandonment: One Daughter’s Personal Account,” M. Rickert
  • “The Inner City,” Karen Heuler
  • “Intertropical Convergence Zone,” Nadia Bulkin
  • “The Pile,” Michael Bishop


  • A Better Angel, Chris Adrian
  • Dangerous Laughter, Steven Millhauser
  • The Diving Pool, Yoko Ogawa
  • The Girl on the Fridge, Etgar Keret
  • Just After Sunset, Stephen King
  • Wild Nights! , Joyce Carol Oates


  • Bound for Evil, edited by Tom English
  • Exotic Gothic 2: New Tales of Taboo, edited by Danel Olson
  • Fast Ships, Black Sails, edited by Ann and Jeff Vandermeer
  • The New Uncanny, edited by Sarah Eyre and Ra Page
  • Shades of Darkness, edited by Barbara and Christopher Roden

    For more information…

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.