Scribe Nominees

The Third Annual Scribes, presented for excellence in tie-in writing, will be awarded at a special ceremony at Comic-Con in San Diego July 23-29. The Grandmaster Award is given to an author for his extensive and exceptional work in the tie-in field. The gaming awards will be presented at GenCon in Indianapolis August 13-16 2009.

General Fiction

Best Novel-Original

  • Burn Notice: The Fix, by Tod Goldberg
  • Criminal Minds: Finishing School, by Max Allan Collins
  • CSI: Headhunter, by Greg Cox

Best Novel—Adapted

  • Death Defying Acts, by Greg Cox
  • Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, by James Rollins
  • The Tudors: King Takes Queen, by Elizabeth Massie
  • The Wackness, by Dale C. Phillips
  • The X-Files: I Want to Believe, by Max Allan Collins

Speculative Fiction

Best Novel—Original

  • Ghost Whisperer: Revenge, by Doranna Durgin
  • Ravenloft: The Covenant, Heaven’s Bones, by Samantha Henderson
  • Stargate SG-1: Hydra, by Holly Scott & Jaime Duncan
  • Star Trek Terok Nor: Day of the Vipers, by James Swallow

Best Novel—Adapted

  • Hellboy II: The Golden Army, by Bob Greenberger
  • The Mutant Chronicles, by Matt Forbeck
  • Star Wars—The Clone Wars: Wild Space, by Karen Miller
  • Underworld: Rise of the Lycans, by Greg Cox

Young Adult—All Genres

Best Novel—Original

  • Dr. Who: The Eyeless, by Lance Parkin
  • Primeval; Shadow of the Jaguar, by Steven Savile
  • Disney Club Penguin: Stowaway! Adventures at Sea, by Tracey West

Best Novel—Adapted

  • Iron Man: The Junior Novel, by Stephen D. Sullivan
  • The Dark Knight: The Junior Novel, by Stacia Deutsch and Rhody Cohon
  • Journey to the Center of the Earth 3D, by Tracey West

The Grandmaster Award: Keith R. A. DeCandido

Special Gaming Scribe—Best Original

  • Eberron: The Inquisitives, the Darkwood Mask, by Jeff LaSala
  • Dragonlance: Death March, by Jean Rabe
  • Eberron: The Doom of Kings, by Don Bassingthwaite
  • Warhammer: Elfslayer, by Nathan Long

Special Gaming Scribe—Best Adapted

  • The Worls of Warcraft: Beyond the Dark Portal, by Aaron Rosenberg & Christie Golden
  • The Mutant Chronicles, by Matt Forbeck
  • Metal Gear Solid, by Raymond Benson

For more information…