2008 Sidewise Awards Nominees

The 2008 Sidewise Awards will be presented at Anticipation, the 67th Worldcon, to be held in Montreal, Canada from August 6-10, 2009. The Sidewise Awards for Alternate History were established in 1995 to recognize excellence in alternate history fiction.

Short Form:

  • “A Brief Guide to Other Histories,” Paul J. McAuley
  • “G-Men,” by Kristine Kathryn Rusch
  • “Night Bird Soaring,” by T.L. Morganfield
  • “The People’s Machine,” by Tobias Buckell
  • “Poison Victory,” by Albert E. Cowdrey
  • “Sacrifice,” by Mary Rosenblum

Long Form:

  • The Affinity Bridge, by George Mann
  • The Dragon’s Nine Sons, by Chris Roberson
  • Half a Crown, by Jo Walton
  • Nation, by Terry Pratchett
  • Swiftly, by Adam Roberts

For more information…

Obituary: Abigail Frost

UK Fan Abigail Frost died on May 1. Frost wrote for fanzines and worked as a journalist, although her lack of computer skills limited her fannish interaction in recent years. Frost won the 1993 TAFF race, traveling to the US. Following her trip, Frost suffered financial setbacks and her use of TAFF funds raised red flags in the fannish community. Frost’s fanzines included New River Blues (with Roz Kaveny, 1979-81), Le Nouveau Revue Bleu (1984), Mexicon 2 – The Fanzine (with Pam Wells, 1986), and Memoirs of a Woman of Pleasure (1989).

Obituary: Venetia Phair

Venetia Phair (b.1918) died on April 30. Born Venetia Burney, in 1930, she suggested to her grandfather, Falconer Madan, that the new planet discovered by Clyde Tombaugh should be named Pluto, after the god of the underworld. Madan passed her suggestion on to astronomer Frederick Hall Turner and the name was eventually adopted.

Obituary: Dom DeLuise

Actor Dom DeLuise (b.1933) died on May 4. DeLuise has appeared in numerous films, including the Mel Brooks comedies Blazing Saddles, The Twelve Chairs, and Silent Movie. His genre roles include appearances in Stargate SG-1, Third Rock from the Sun,SeaQuest DSV, and Spaceballs.

Nimoy & Katzenberg Honored

Leonard Nimoy and Jeffrey Katzenberg have been named as honorees at the 35th Annual Saturn Awards, to be held on June 24. Katzenberg will receive the Visionary Award for his work spearheading the current round of 3D film technology. Nimoy, best known for his role as Spock in Star Trek, will receive a Lifetime Achievement Award.

For more information…

Obituary: Ric Estrada

Comic and animation artist Ric Estrada (b.1928) died on May 1. Estrada was the co-creator of Power Girl for DC Comics and also worked on Karate Kid and Superboy & the Legion of Super-Heroes. In the 1980s, he began working on animation, with his talents employed by He-Man and the Masters of the Universe and Jonny Quest.

Obituary: John Caspell

Filker John Caspell (b.1951) died on May 2. Caspell, who was also known as “Dr. Filk,” performed with Brooke Lunderville and both hailed from British Columbia. Caspell and Lunderville performed many original filksongs, including “The Space Lasers May Already Have Penetrated My Tinfoil Helmet (Despite My Extensive Field Research),” “Gone Fission,” and “Blind Date on the Island of Dr. Moreau.”