World Fantasy Award Nominations

The nominees for the World Fantasy Awards have been announced. The winners will be announced at World Fantasy Con, held this year in San Jose, California the weekend of October 29-November 1.

Best Novel

  • The House of the Stag, by Kage Baker
  • The Shadow Year, by Jeffrey Ford
  • The Graveyard Book, by Neil Gaiman
  • Pandemonium, by Daryl Gregory
  • Tender Morsels, by Margo Lanagan

Best Novella

  • “Uncle Chaim and Aunt Rifke and the Angel,” by Peter S. Beagle
  • “If Angels Fight,” by Richard Bowes
  • “The Overseer,” by Albert Cowdrey
  • “Odd and the Frost Giants,” by Neil Gaiman
  • “Good Boy,” by Nisi Shawl

Best Short Story

  • “Caverns of Mystery,” by Kage Baker
  • “26 Monkeys, Also the Abyss,” by Kij Johnson
  • “Pride and Prometheus,” by John Kessel
  • “Our Man in the Sudan,” by Sarah Pinborough
  • “A Buyer’s Guide to Maps of Antarctica,” by Catherynne M. Valente

Best Anthology

  • The Living Dead, edited by John Joseph Adams
  • The Del Rey Book of Science Fiction and Fantasy, edited by Ellen Datlow
  • The Year’s Best Fantasy and Horror 2008: Twenty-First Annual Collection, edited by Ellen Datlow, Kelly Link, & Gavin J. Grant
  • Paper Cities: An Anthology of Urban Fantasy, edited by Ekaterina Sedia
  • Steampunk, edited by Ann & Jeff VanderMeer

Best Collection

  • Strange Roads, by Peter S. Beagle
  • The Drowned Life, by Jeffrey Ford
  • Pretty Monsters, by Kelly Link
  • Filter House, by Nisi Shawl
  • Tales from Outer Suburbia, by Shaun Tan

Best Artist

  • Kinuko Y. Craft
  • Janet Chui
  • Stephan Martinière
  • John Picacio
  • Shaun Tan

Special Award, professional

  • Kelly Link & Gavin J. Grant for Small Beer Press and Big Mouth House
  • Farah Mendelsohn for The Rhetorics of Fantasy
  • Stephen H. Segal & Ann VanderMeer for Weird Tales
  • Jerad Walters for A Lovecraft Retrospective: Artists Inspired by H.P. Lovecraft
  • Jacob Weisman for Tachyon Publications

Special Award, Non-Professional

  • Edith L. Crowe for her work with The Mythopoeic Society
  • John Klima for Electric Velocipede
  • Elise Matthesen for setting out to inspire and for serving as inspiration for works of poetry, fantasy, and SF
    over the last decade through her jewelry-making and her “artist’s challenges.”

  • Sean Wallace, Neil Clarke, & Nick Mamatas for Clarkesworld
  • Michael Walsh for Howard Waldrop collections from Old Earth Books

For more information…