Gemmell Award Grows

Following the presentation of the first David Gemmell Legend Award, the awards committee has added two new categories, the David Gemmell Morningstar Award and the David Gemmell Ravenheart Award, each, like the original award, named for the title of one of Gemmell’s novels. The Morningstar Award will be presented for best newcomer to fantasy fiction. The Ravenheart will honor best fantasy cover art of the year. As with the Legend Award, all winners will be determined by popular vote.

For more information…

World Fantasy Award Winners

The 2009 World Fantasy Awards were presented on November 1 at World Fantasy Convention 2009 in San Jose, California. This year’s judges included Jenny Blackford, Peter Heck, Ellen Klages, Chris Roberson, and Delia Sherman.

  • Life Achievement: Ellen Asher and Jane Yolen
  • Novel (tie): The Shadow Year, by Jeffrey Ford and Tender Morsels, by Margo Lanagan
  • Novella: “If Angels Fight,” by Richard Bowes
  • Short Story: “26 Monkeys, Also the Abyss,” by Kij Johnson
  • Anthology: Paper Cities: An Anthology of Urban Fantasy, edited by Ekaterina Sedia
  • Collection: The Drowned Life, by Jeffrey Ford
  • Artist: Shaun Tan
  • Special Award—Professional: Kelly Link & Gavin J. Grant (for Small Beer Press and Big Mouth House)
  • Special Award—Non-professional: Michael J. Walsh (for Howard Waldrop collections from Old Earth Books)

For more information…