Obituary: Christopher Anvil

Author Harry C. Crosby, Jr. (b.1925), who wrote as Christopher Anvil died on November 30. Crosby had numerous short stories appear in Astounding and Analog as well as many novels. Recently, Baen Books has been republishing omnibus editions of many of his novels and short stories.

British Independent Film Awards Winners

The winners of the British Independent Film Awards have been announced, with the science fiction film Moon taking top honors. Categories with winners of genre interest are listed below.

  • Best British Independent Film: Moon
  • Best Foreign Film: Let the Right One In
  • The Douglas Hickox Award for Best Debut Director: Duncan Jones for Moon

For more information…

Obituary: Kennedy Poyser

Fan Kennedy “Kippy” Poyser (b.1945) died on November 30. Poyser was the Fan GoH at the 1981 Orycon, edited the 1982 World Fantasy Con program book, and chaired Hatcons in the 1980s. Poyser also owned several bookstores, in Connecticut and Texas. He was the former husband of Hugo Award-winning artist Victoria Poyser.

Aurealis Nominations

The nominations for the 2009 Aurealis Award, given for best Australian science fiction, fantasy, and horror, have been announced. The inners will be announced at the Judith Wright Centre of Contemporary Arts in Brisbane on Saturday 23 January 2010.

Best Science Fiction Novel

  • Wonders of a Godless World, by Andrew McGahan
  • The Grand Conjunction, by Sean Williams

Best Science Fiction Short Story

  • “Clockwork, Patchwork and Ravens,” by Peter M. Ball
  • “To Dream of Stars: An Astronomer’s Lament,” by Peter M. Ball
  • “A Hundredth Name,” by Christopher Green
  • “Defence of the Realm,” by Greg Mellor
  • “Soulmates,” by Mike Resnick & Lezli Robyn

Best Fantasy Novel

  • Horn, by Peter M. Ball
  • Magician’s Apprentice, by Trudi Canavan
  • The Last Stormlord, by Glenda Larke
  • Witches Incorporated, by K.E. Mills
  • The Dark Griffin, by K.J. Taylor

Best Fantasy Short Story

  • “Father’s Kill,” by Christopher Green
  • “Once a Month, On a Sunday,” by Ian McHugh
  • “Siren Beat,” by Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • “Words,” by Angela Slatter
  • “Something Better than Death,” by Lucy Sussex

Best Horror Novel

  • Horn, by Peter M. Ball
  • Red Queen, by Honey Brown
  • The Dead Path, by Stephen M. Irwin
  • Night’s Cold Kiss, by Tracey O’Hara
  • Slights, by Kaaron Warren

Best Horror Short Story

  • “Jesse’s Gift,” by Felicity Dowker
  • “Having Faith,” by Christopher Green
  • “Wives,” by Paul Haines
  • “Slice of Life – A Spot of Liver,” by Paul Haines
  • “The Message,” by Andrew J. McKiernan

Best Anthology

  • New Ceres Nights, edited by Alisa Krasnostein
  • X6, edited by Keith Stevenson
  • Eclipse 2, edited by Jonathan Strahan
  • Eclipse 3, edited by Jonathan Strahan
  • The New Space Opera 2, edited by Jonathan Strahan

Best Collection

  • A Book of Endings, edited by Deborah Biancotti & Alisa Krasnostein
  • Oceanic, by Greg Egan
  • Slice of Life, edited by Paul Haines & Geoff Maloney
  • Johnny Phillips Werewolf Detective, edited by Robbie Matthews & Donna Hanson

Best Illustated Book/Graphic Novel

  • Scarygirl, by Nathan Jurevicius
  • The Silence, by Bruce Mutard
  • Secrets of Deltora, by Emily Rodda & Marc McBride
  • Hollow Fields, by Madeleine Rosca

Best Young Adult Novel

  • The Puzzle Ring, by Kate Forsyth
  • The Museum of Mary Child, by Cassandra Golds
  • A Small Free Kiss in the Dark, by Glenda Millard
  • Leviathan Trilogy: Book One, by Scott Westerfeld
  • Scarecrow, by Sean Williams

Best Young Adult Short Story

  • “Dragon Bones,” by Joanne Anderton
  • “Paper Dragons,” by Sue Isle
  • “Once a Month, on a Sunday,” by Ian McHugh
  • “Like Us,” by Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • “Seventeen,” by Cat Sparks

Best Children’s Novel

  • The Remarkable Secret of Aurelie Bonhoffen, Deborah Abela
  • Cicada Summer, by Kate Constable
  • Tensy Farlow and the Home for Mislaid Children, by Jen Storer
  • A Ghost in My Suitcase, by Gabrielle Wang

Best Children’s Illustrated Work/Picture Book

  • Enigma, by Graeme Base
  • Tashi and the Golem, by Anna Fienberg, art by Kim Gamble
  • Victor’s Challenge, by Pamela Freeman, art by Kim Gamble
  • Pilot and Huxley, by Dan McGuiness
  • The Hero of Little Street, by Gregory Rogers

For more information…

SMOFCon 2010

SMOFCon 28, the annual convention targetted at convention runners, will be held in San Jose from December 3-5, 2010. The event will be run by SFSFC at the Sainte Claire Hotel. Membership rates are currently set at $50.

For more information…

Obituary: Richard Todd

Actor Richard Todd (b.1919) died on December 3. Todd appeared as Robin Hood in The Story of Robin Hood and His Merrie Men and in Dorian Gray as well as in the Doctor Who serial “Kinda.” He was nominated for an Oscar for his role in The Hasty Heart, but is probably best known for his role in the film Dam Busters.

UPC Award

The Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya announced the winners of the 2009 UPC Science Fiction award on October 6. First prize carries an award of 6,000 euros and honorable mention receives 1,500 euros.

First prize: Bis, by Roberto Sanhueza Hormazabal of Chile
Honorable Mention: Femtopetas, by Claude Eckenshwiller of France
UPC Mention: Oper, by Jesús Otero Yugat of Spain

For more information…

Grammy Nominations

Harlan Ellison has been nominated for a Grammy Award for his recording of Through the Looking Glass and What Alice Found There in the Best Spoken Word Album For Children. The Grammy Awards will be presented on January 31, 2010 at the Staples Center in Los Angeles. The nominees in Ellison’s category appear below.

Best Spoken Word Album For Children
(For albums consisting of predominantly spoken word vs. music or song.)

  • Aaaaah! Spooky, Scary Stories & Songs, recorded by Buck Howdy
  • Captain Nobody, recorded by Dean Pitchford
  • Nelson Mandela’s Favorite African Folktales, recorded by Various Artists
  • The Phantom Tollbooth, recorded by David Hyde Pierce
  • Scat, recorded by Ed Asner
  • Through The Looking-Glass And What Alice Found There, recorded by Harlan Ellison

For more information…

National Board of Review Winners

The National Board of Review announced the winners of their annual film awards on December 3. The NBR is considered one of the awards that leads up to the Academy Awards. Only categories with winners of genre interest are listed.

  • Best Animated Feature: Up
  • Spotlight Award for Best Directorial Debut: (tie) Duncan Jones for Moon, Oren Moverman for The Messenger, and Marc Webb for (500) Days of Summer
  • Special Filmmaking Achievement: Wes Anderson for The Fantastic Mr. Fox

For more information…

Obituary: Don Congdon

Agent and editor Don Congdon (b.1918) died on November 30. Congdon began working for Lurton Blassingame, eventually gaining his own clients, including Ray Bradbury. In 1944, he was hired as the editor of Collier’s and in 1946 he was working as an editor for Simon and Schuster. He returned to agenting in 1947 and founded his own company in 1983. Congdon also edited several anthologies.