Aurealis Award Winners

The winners of the 2009 Aurealis Awards were announced at the Judith Wright Centre of Contemporary Arts in Brisbane on Saturday 24 January 2010.

  • Best Science Fiction Novel: Wonders of a Godless World, by Andrew McGahan
  • Best Science Fiction Short Story: “Clockwork, Patchwork and Ravens,” by Peter M. Ball
  • Best Fantasy Novel: Magician’s Apprentice, by Trudi Canavan
  • Best Fantasy Short Story: (tie) “Father’s Kill,” by Christopher Green; and “Once a Month, On a Sunday,:, by Ian McHugh
  • Best Horror Novel: Red Queen, by Honey Brown
  • Best Horror Short Story: tie “Wives,” by Paul Haines; and “Slive of Life-A Spot of Liver,” by Paul Haines
  • Best Anthology: Eclipse 3, edited by Jonathan Strahan
  • Best Collection: Oceanic, by Greg Egan
  • Best Illustated Book/Graphic Novel: Scarygirl, by Nathan Jurevicius
  • Best Young Adult Novel: Leviathan Trilogy: Book One, by Scott Westerfeld
  • Best Young Adult Short Story: “Seventeen,” by Cat Sparks
  • Best Children’s (8-12 years) Novel: A Ghost in My Suitcase, by Gabrielle Wang
  • Best Children’s (8-12 years) Short Fiction/Illustrated Work/Picture Book: Victor’s Challenge, by Pamela Freeman, illustrated by Kim Gamble
  • The Peter McNamara Convenors’ Award for Excellence: Justin Ackroyd
  • The Kris Hembury Encouragement Award for Emerging Artists: Kathleen Jennings

For more information…

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.